CHILD SAFETY SEATS

Automobile crashes are the #1 killer of young children.  The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration statistics have shown that correct use of child safety seats is over 70% effective in preventing fatalities and correct seat belt usage can reduce fatalities up to 50%.  Restraint of children in vehicles is the law in Kentucky.  Failure to follow this law can result in a minimum fine plus other legal assessments for each violation.  Purchase and provision of child safety seats is not a requirement of LHD but rather an optional service.  Parents may obtain child safety seats through various retail stores and hospitals throughout Kentucky.

GENERAL GUIDELINES

(Based on Drive Smart Kentucky Program)

· The safest place for any child age 12 and under is in the BACK seat.

· Infants up to 20 pounds and up to 1 year should ride in the back seat in a REAR- FACING federally approved child safety seat.

· Never place a rear facing child restraint in front of an airbag. 

· Children over 20 pounds and at least 1 year old should ride in the back seat in a FORWARD-FACING federally approved child safety seat.

· Children over 40 pounds should ride in a federally approved booster seat until the car lap\shoulder belt fits correctly.  (This is typically from about age 4 to at least age 8).

· Kentucky Law states that children with a height 40 inches and under should be in a federally approved child restraint seat.  Child Safety Advocates recommend that children remain in a Belt-Positioning Booster Seat from about 40 pounds to about 80 pounds and 4’9”.

· Children with a height over 40 inches may be in a federally approved child restraint seat, booster seat, integrated car seat, or safety belt.

· Always read the child seat instructions and car owner’s manual.  Test the child seat to ensure less than 1” of movement by pulling the base side to side or toward the front of the car.

· To report observation of an unrestrained child in a vehicle call 1-888-235-8KID and prepare to give the license plate number of the vehicle.

· For additional information contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration at 1-888-327-4236 or go to the web site at nhtsa.dot.gov/people/injury/child.    

SAFETY SEAT GUIDELINES

Safety seats are provided for children with counseling and education for the parents or guardian on correctly placing the child in the seat and the seat in the vehicle.  It is the decision of the local health department to target certain patients for safety seat services.  LHDs should follow local policies regarding initial and renewal loans and safety seat returns, when applicable.  For more information contact Maternal Child Health Branch, Division of Adult and Child Health at 502-564-2154.

	NEED/CONDITION
	ASSESSMENT
	INTERVENTION
	FOLLOW-UP

	Safety Seat
	Inquire of the parent or guardian if the child has and correctly uses a safety seat.
	Provide information and demonstrate the correct way to place the child in the seat.

Provide information and demonstrate the correct way to place the seat in the vehicle.

Counsel the parent or guardian on the importance of using safety belts.
	Renew loan agreement if applies, however car seats must be new and not used.

Reinforce counseling provided at the initial service.
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