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Requirements for Applying for CERTIFICATION
This information packet provides you with the instructions and forms needed to apply to become a certified family child care home.  A copy of Kentucky’s regulations for Family Child Care Certification (922 KAR 2:100) is included at the back of the packet. Please read this packet thoroughly. If you have questions, after reading the packet, please call the Division of Regulated Child Care at 1-502-564-7962.

The following are required before an application is complete:

· Application Form (DCC-178)

· Self-Checklist (DCC-179) The checklist contains the items required by Regulation 922 KAR 2:100 in order to become certified.  Keep one of the completed checklists for your files.)

· Physician’s Statement (provider applicant only) A sample statement is included in this packet. 

· Results of a Tuberculin Skin Test (provider applicant and all adults living in the home) This test must have been administered within thirty (30) days of your application.)
· Ten dollar ($10) non-refundable application fee (check or money order only No Cash) made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.

· Criminal Record Checks for the applicant and all adults in the home.  A criminal record check is also required for assistants and substitutes. The forms to order criminal record checks are provided in this packet. Instructions for ordering the record checks, fees, and mailing directions are included on the criminal record check forms.

· Two (2) written character reference letters from unrelated individuals (letters should be signed and include name, address and phone number of the reference). 

· Central Registry check for incidents of child neglect, abuse or exploitation - The Division of Regulated Child Care, pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100, will complete this check for the applicant and all other adults listed on the application (please complete the Central Registry form on all adults in the home).  Any assistant or substitute, who is not listed as residing in the home, must request a Central Registry Check by completing the Central Registry form provided in this packet.   

When all application information has been received, you will be notified by mail that your application is complete.  You will then be contacted by Division of Regulated Child Care staff to schedule a technical assistance visit and inspection of your home.  It is illegal to provide care for more than three (3) unrelated children until you are certified.

HELPFUL INFORMATION:

Individuals planning to apply for Family Child Care Home Certification should check with their local planning and zoning board to determine if their community has specific zoning requirements for an in-home child care business.

Family Child Care Certification Regulations require providers maintain commercial liability insurance of at least $50,000 per child, per occurrence.    Basic Homeowner’s insurance does not meet this requirement.  A provider may check with their current insurance carrier to determine if the carrier offers commercial liability insurance on an in-home child care business.  Several insurance carriers offer coverage to family child care homes.  If you have questions about obtaining this insurance, contact the Division of Regulated Child Care or your local Child Care Resource and Referral Agency (list provided in this packet).

Procedures for CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
If you are applying for renewal of your family child care certification; you will need to submit the following at least one (1) month prior to the expiration of your certificate:

1) Application form (DCC-178)  DO NOT USE PENCIL
2) Send a check or money order for the ten dollar ($10.00) non-refundable Certification Application Fee
Make check or money order payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.  No Cash will be accepted.
3) Send a Physician’s Statement (form enclosed)
4) Send the Results of Tuberculosis Test on the renewal applicant – The test must have been administered within 30 days of application.
5) Send a copy of the Criminal Record Check (CRC) on the renewal applicant – You can request your Criminal Record Report from either the Kentucky State Police or the Administrative Office of the Court.
The Criminal Record Check forms are enclosed.  Follow the instructions on the forms and remember to enclose the required $10.00 fee per record for the processing of the Criminal Record Check(s).

6) Send a complete Central Registry Check Form(s) which is enclosed in the application packet.  The Division of Regulated Child Care, pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100, will complete this check for the applicant and all other adults residing in the home (please complete the Central Registry form on all adults in the home) .  Any assistant, employee, or substitute, who is not residing in the home, must request a Central Registry Check by completing the Central Registry form provided in this packet.
7) The Self-Check list (DCC-179) should be reviewed and completed in preparation for your recertification home inspection.  Please keep this in your home for the surveyor to review.
Procedures for Reporting Changes
Name Change of Child Care Provider: In the box at the top of the Application form, enter the name that is on your current certificate.  Complete your new information in Sections 1 and 9.  (If the name change is due to a new marriage and a move, see the instructions below to add the new adult to your home and to report your new address.)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Application (DCC – 178) - Complete Sections 1 & 9

Change of Location or Address Change: The Self-Check List (DCC-179) should be reviewed in preparation for your relocation home inspection. However, you are not required to submit the Checklist with the change of location application.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Application (DCC – 178) - Complete Sections 1, 2 & 9

Change of Hours for Providing Care:  Please send in a written statement which indicates your hours of operation.  Your written statement needs to include your name and address.

 To Add an Adult to the Home:

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Application (DCC-178) - Complete Sections 1, 8 & 9

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Results of tuberculosis test (for the new adult)

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Criminal Records Check (for the new adult)

Office of Inspector General, Division of Regulated Child Care

APPLICATION FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME CERTIFICATION – DCC-178

Instructions for Form Completion
Purpose of Document - 

The DCC-178 Application for Family Child Care Home Certification form allows individuals to:

· Apply for initial certification as a Family Child Care Home Provider;

· Apply for renewal of certification as a Family Child Care Home Provide; or

· Report changes in  Family Child Care Homes (name, telephone number, address, and new adult in the home)

General Instructions - 

· Complete the forms legibly in ink (or type) DO NOT USE PENCIL.

· Required documentation - Lists of required documentation are provided at the bottom of the application.   Forms to secure required documentation and examples of documentation are included in the application packet.

· Mail completed form and all required documentation to the address listed at the top of the application 

· New applicants and those who are reapplying should complete the form in full.  Certified providers who are reporting changes should refer to section at the bottom of the form entitled “How to Report Changes” for instructions.

Clarifications –

· See # 1 on application, Provider Identification – FEIN (Federal Employee Identification Number) should be reported if you have a FEIN for tax reporting purposes.  Name of Child Care Home should be reported if you have named your family child care home.  

· See # 2 on application, Directions to your home – Complete in detail so staff can find your home for inspection visits.

· See # 4 on application, Food Sponsor – If you choose to use a Food Sponsor, list the name and address of the food sponsor.  (A list of Food Sponsors is included in the certification packet)

· See # 9 on application, Statement of Provider – Read this section thoroughly.  Your signature indicates your understanding and acceptance of the terms stated in this section. 

After becoming certified, a Family Child Care Home provider is required to immediately notify the Division of Child Care of changes that significantly impact the operation of a family child care home.  Instructions for changes are listed at the bottom of the application.

CLARIFICATIONS

 Changes/Updates that require submittal of updated DCC-178

1.  Name Change 

2.  Change of Location/Address Change

3.  Addition of a New Adult to Home

Changes, other than those listed above, can be reported by telephone.  Examples include: corrections, new telephone number, FEIN Number has been received, child care home has been given a name, and provider has become a licensed child care provider. 

If you have questions, please call 1-502-564-7962.
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‘Name on cufrent ceriicat:

APPLICATION FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME CERTIFICATION

1. PROVIDER IDENTIFICATION

Name:

T R oiden T

Martal Satus (circle one)  sigle married.divorced ocial Security # -

FEIN* Name of Child Care:
Tapplicle) Epplieabie)
ddess
Street requieed for Tting on cordieats) 70 Box (f applieable)
= T ZipCode
Work Number (applis Fome Nuber o vder v eephone

T DIRECTIONS 10 YOUR HOME IRON THE NEAREST MAJOR HIGHW AT

" HAVE YOU PREVIOUSLY OPERATED A FACILITY THAT WAS LICENSED OR CERTIFIED BY THE CABINET?
YESO NO [ Ifyes, specify the name and address of the facilicy, and the name of the owser or operator

4. FOOD SPONSOR: Name of Child Care Food Program Sponsar:

5. LOCATION: BUILDING TYPE: (] House (] Apartmens, Duplex, or C:

D Modular or Mobile Home.

DO YOU (1 Own or [ Rent? Ifrenting. you need your landlord's permission to operate a child care home.

6. HOURS OF OPERATION Do you keep children overnight? [ No [ Yes Hours you e open: From ©

(Check days you operate child care home: [ISun (Mon [JTues (IWed OThws CJFsi [0St

7. CHILDREN: List your own
siblings under age thireen (13) in

children, grandehildren, nieces, nephes
home during the operating hours of

5, and children in legal custody, step-children, and
ar child care home.

Child's Name Date of Birth | Social Securify # | Relationship | Dates & Hours Attending





[image: image3.png]8. ADULTS: Listthe sames of adults

iteen (18) years of age or olderlving in your home

First Name | Middle Name Tast Name Relationship | Dafe of Birth Social Security £

9. STATEMENT OF PROVIDER
1T certify that this is 2 true and accurate description of my child care operation on this date and that I have not
kmowingly misrepresented or offered false information on the application o other required forms. T hereby give
the Department for Community Based Services the right o contact social agencies and references listed to verify
my statements. 1 understand the Department for Commuaity Based Services staff shall have the authority to
inspect my home and the records required by 922 KAR 2:100 and that those inspections shall be unannounced.

Iunderstand the Department for Community Based Services, Division of Child Care shall complete 2 check of the
Cential Registry pursuast to 922 KAR 1:470 to determine if any adult in my household has had 2 substatiation of
child abuse, neglect, or exploitation by the Cabinet. T understand that my application for certification shall be
denied if any adult in my househiold has been found by the Cabine or court to have abused or neglected a child.
The Department shall also review the criminal record checks of all adults in my housebold. T understand that my
application for certification s! adult in my household has been convicted of a violeat crime or
sex crime as defined in KRS 17.165. I understand that my application for certification shall be denied if there is a
history of behavior that may impact the safety or security of a child in cate including but not limited o a
conviction of a drug related felony (922 KAR 2:100),

Tunderstand that 1 am required to immediately notify the Department for Commuaity Based Services of any action
ificantly impacts the operation of my fanuly child care home. Examples of such changes
include 2 move to a new location, marriage and 2 name change. telephone number changes, new adults in the
home, ceasing operation, or becoming 3 licensed provider. 1 understand that this application applies only o the
Iocation listed on this form and that if 1 move, I must immediately apply for a certificate at auy new location.

Ihave read and understand the family child care certification requirements as specified in 922 KAR 2:100.

Provder's Signate Date

Required Documentation to be submitted for Action Requested
Application s not complete for processing until all required documents are submitted.
Tuitial Application Renewal Request FHow to Report Changes

O Application (DCC-! (applying to renew existing. Name Change
O Self-Check list (DCC- certificate for additional 2 years) O Application (DCC - 178) complete Sections 1 & 9
O physicin s sttemest
O results of tuberculosis test on O Application (DCC-178), Location/Address Change
0 physician's staemens, 0 Application (DCC~ 178) complete Sectons 1,2 &9

(adomistered within 30 days O results of tuberculosis test on

of the date of spplication). senewal applicant Add an Adult tothe Home
O criminal records check on all (administered within 30 days O Application (DCC-178) complete Sections 1, 8 &9

acls i the home of spplicato 0 resuls of taberculosis test
(0510 non-refundable O crinunal records check on O criminal records check

certification fee (check or

‘money order payatle to

Kenicky State Tressures)and cerificaton fe (check or Changes, oher than those liseed above, may be eported

02 writen seferences money order payabe to by telephone or leter
Kencky Sate Tressuer)
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[image: image10.png]3. The back of a pick-up ruck shall ot be used to transport children. [Section 12(3)]

J. Records:
1. A centfied fanuily child care home provider shall mainain the confidentiality of a child's records.
[Section 1

The provider sall_[Section 13G)@)0]

(8) Reportan incident of suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant o KRS 620.030(1): and

(6) Provide the cabinet access axd information i the complefion of the investigation pursuant to
KRS 620.0300)

K. Certified Family Child Care Program. The certified family child care provider shalk
1. Develop witten information about the service that specifies the rate for child care and the expected
frequency of payment for the program. [Section 14(D@)(®)]

Mske available & copy of the certfication standards to each parent. [Section 14(

Provide each parent wih the name, address, and elephone mumber of the cabinet for the purpose of
registeing & complaint i the parent believes the fannly child care home provider i not meeting the
standards. [Section 143)]

4. Postand provide to each parent 2 copy of Children and Parent Rights, a5 required by KRS 199.895.
[Section 14(4)]

5. Allow a parent t visit and observe the program: during the hours of operation and communicate with
each child's parents about e child's development, activities, ikes and dislikes. [Section 14(5(6)
@]

L. The certified family child care provider shall obtain commereial lisblity insurance of at
least $50,000 per child per occurrence. [Section 10(1)(©)]

To the best of my knowledge, [ cerify that the above informafion i an accurate assessment of my family child care home. T
nderstend that the above-referenced requirements pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100 shall be met while I am operating a family
<hild care Lome.

Provider's Name: Telephone:

Mailing Address

Sweet o P.O.Bow) G @p Code) Couny)

Provider/ Applicant Sigmate: Date.





Cabinet for Health and Family Services
                                                              Office of the Inspector General 

Division of Regulated Child Care

275 E. Main Street, 6E-B

Frankfort, KY 40621-0001
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PHYSICIAN’S STATEMENT

KENTUCKY CABINET FOR HEALTH AND FAMILY SERVICES

DEPARTMENT OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

DIVISION OF REGULATED CHILD CARE

275 EAST MAIN ST. 6E-B, FRANKFORT, KY 40621-0001
CERTIFICATION PROGRAM FOR CHILD CARE PROVIDER

Child Care Provider’s Name: ________________________________________________​​​​​​​​​___________
Address/City/State:___________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number:___________________________________________________________________

The above named person has applied to become a state certified family child care home provider.  This person will be solely responsible for the care of up to six (6) unrelated children in addition to related children.  She/he will be working an average of eight (8) to the (10) hours per day, five (5) days per week.

In your medical opinion, is this person physically capable of assuming these job responsibilities?
YES _________
NO __________

If no, who not? ______________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

Any additional comments:______________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________
________________________

             Physician’s Signature





Date

Physician’s Name (please print) _________________________________________________________

Office Address: _______________________________________________________________________

City: ____________________________ State: ___________ Telephone: ______________

2/01

Instructions

CRIMINAL RECORD CHECKS

The forms on the following pages can be used to request criminal record checks. You may choose to use records from either the State Police or the Administrative Office of the Courts.  Reports from both agencies are NOT required.

The Family Child Care Regulation 922 KAR 2:100, Section 2 (2)(c) and Section 2 (3)(a) require a criminal record check on:

· a provider (applicant) and 
· any other adults living in the provider’s home
· substitute and assistant providers   

For Your Information:

· Both agencies have included directions on their attached forms. 

· Both agencies require a $10 fee for each record.

· The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) will not mail records directly to the Division of Regulated Child Care.  The AOC will send the report to you; and you will then need to forward the report to the Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Office of the Inspector General, Division of Regulated Child Care, 275 East Main Street, 6E-B, Frankfort, Ky. 40621.

· The Kentucky State Police Records Section will send a copy of the criminal records checks directly to the Division of Regulated Child Care, if you send them a stamped envelope addressed to the Cabinet For Health and Family Services, Office of the Inspector General, Division of Regulated Child Care, 275 East Main Street, 6 E-B, Frankfort, Ky. 40621. If you want the record checks sent directly to the Division of Regulated Child Care, follow the instructions on the State Police form.

REQUEST FOR CONVICTION RECORD/CERTIFICATION ONLY

Pursuant to KRS 17.165, request is made for any record of conviction of a crime by the person identified herein.  This information shall be released to:

CABINET FOR HEALTH & FAMILY SERVICES, OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL,


DIVISION OF REGULATED CHILD CARE, 275 EAST MAIN STREET 6E-B, FRANKFORT, KY 40621

Agency Name and Address

I know that the Kentucky State Police (KSP) will provide the Division of Regulated Child Care with any record I may have for conviction of any crime.  I know that I have a right to inspect my criminal history record and to request correction of any inaccurate information.  If I do not exercise that right, I agree to hold harmless the KSP and any KSP employee from any claim for damages arising from the dissemination of inaccurate information.

APPLICANT INFORMATION
Name ________________________________________________________


Last



First



Middle



Maiden
_____________________________________________________________________________​​​​​_______                           
Address



City


State


Zip

Sex: _____
Race: _____
Date of Birth: _______________ 
Social Sec. No. __________________

Scars, marks, amputations________________________________________________________________                                                                                

_______________________________________________

Signature





Date

_______________________________________________

Witness





Date

INSTRUCTIONS





Thumb Print (right)

All applicable information should be completed.

A legible inked impression of the right thumb of the subject should be placed in the block “thumb print”.

A check should be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer in the amount of $10.00 for each submitted form.

Requests should be accompanied by two stamped envelopes – one bearing the name and address of the Division of Regulated Child Care and the other bearing your name and address.

Return forms to: 


 KENTUCKY STATE POLICE

ATTN:  ANNA MAPP

RECORDS SECTION

1250 LOUISVILLE ROAD

FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601

REQUEST FOR CONVICTION RECORD/CERTIFICATION ONLY

Pursuant to KRS 17.165, request is made for any record of conviction of a crime by the person identified herein.  This information shall be released to:

CABINET FOR HEALTH & FAMILY SERVICES, OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL,


DIVISION OF REGULATED CHILD CARE, 275 EAST MAIN STREET 6E-B, FRANKFORT, KY 40621

Agency Name and Address

I know that the Kentucky State Police (KSP) will provide the Division of Regulated Child Care with any record I may have for conviction of any crime.  I know that I have a right to inspect my criminal history record and to request correction of any inaccurate information.  If I do not exercise that right, I agree to hold harmless the KSP and any KSP employee from any claim for damages arising from the dissemination of inaccurate information.

APPLICANT INFORMATION
Name ________________________________________________________


Last



First



Middle



Maiden
_____________________________________________________________________________​​​​​_______                           
Address



City


State


Zip

Sex _____
Race _____
Date of Birth: _______________ 
Social Sec. No. __________________

Scars, marks, amputations________________________________________________________________                                                                                

_______________________________________________

Signature





Date

_______________________________________________

Witness





Date

INSTRUCTIONS





Thumb Print (right)

All applicable information should be completed.

A legible inked impression of the right thumb of the subject should be placed in the block “thumb print”.

A check should be made payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer in the amount of $10.00 for each submitted form.

Requests should be accompanied by two stamped envelopes – one bearing the name and address of the Division of Regulated Child Care and the other bearing your name and address.

Return forms to: 


 KENTUCKY STATE POLICE
ATTN:  ANNA MAPP

RECORDS SECTION

1250 LOUISVILLE ROAD

FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601

[image: image13.png]AOC-PT-49 ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF THE COURTS
Rev. 12-03 PRETRIAL SERVICES RECORDS DIVISION
v kycourts.net 100 MILLCREEK PARK
FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY 40601
502-573-1682 or 800-928-6381
pretrialcustomerservice@mail.aoc.state ky.us
The process to obtain the information contained in the CourtNet Disposition System is as follows;

Indi

duals  Requesting a record on yourself requires a $10.00 fee (check or money order). Enclose
a self addressed stamped envelope for a return reply.

Nonprofit Requesting a record on individuals requires a $10.00 fee (check or money order) and
Health Care your nonprofit number (Form #51-A-126). Your return envelope must be addressed with
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for waiver of fees, contact person, phone number, and mailing address on their request.
Multiple inquires can be made on a continuation form.

Fees are paid to the order of the KENTUCKY STATE TREASURER by check or money order ONLY.
FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THESE PROCEDURES WILL RESULT IN THE REQUEST BEING RETURNED
UNPROCESSED. If you suspect information contained on the record is incorrect, or have any questions,
please contact Pretrial Services Records Division at (502) 573-1682 or (800) 928-6381
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under KRS. 523.100. | have provided the basic information necessary 1o quality for record processing and exemption of fees - if
applicable.
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Non-Prafit Numiber (Form 51-A-126), o Tax Exempt Number E-mail address(sent o s e-mail only)
Would you like the CourtNet Records e-mailed? [ 1 Yes [ 1No
Company Telephone Nunber
Please denote which purpose applies to this request
__Employment
RequestoriCantact Person Critninal Investigation
" Screening Housing Applicants
Address " Volunteer/Care over Juvenile
Licensing

Other (please explain)

Ciy, State, Zip
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Rev. 11/03

CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK

FOR CERTIFIED FAMILY CHILD CARE HOMES, STATE LAW OR KENTUCKY ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATIONS REQUIRE A CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT (CAN) CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK AS A CONDITION OF OPERATING OR BEING EMPLOYED BY A CERTIFIED FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME.  PLEASE CHECK THE CATEGORY FOR WHICH THE CAN CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK IS BEING REQUESTED:

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Applicant for Family Child Care Home 

(CAN Check pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100)

      Certification

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Family Child Care Home Substitute/Assistant/
(CAN Check pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100)

      Employee

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Other Adult Living in the Certified Home

(CAN Check pursuant to 922 KAR 2:100)

      (Spouse, adult child, relative, etc.)

OTHER (If none of the above categories is applicable, please explain the reason for requesting a CAN central registry check, including the statutory or regulatory authority for the request):

  These checks are to determine if I qualify 

PERSONAL INFORMATION REGARDING THE INDIVIDUAL SUBMITTING TO A CAN CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK (PLEASE PRINT AND SUBMIT IDENTIFYING INFORMATION SUCH AS A COPY OF YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE, SOCIAL SECURITY CARD, OR BIRTH CERTIFICATE):

NAME:  ____________________________________________________________________________________________

            
(First)


(Middle)


(Maiden)

(Last)

Sex: ____________ Race:  ________________ Date of Birth: ​​________________________________________

Social Security Number:  ________________________ Date of Initial Hire:  ___________________________

Present Address: 



                 








Previous Address:





                   






I hereby authorize the Cabinet for Health and Families Services, Office of the Inspector General, Division of Regulated Child Care, to perform Child Abuse/Neglect (CAN) check of the Central Registry; and to provide the person specifically mentioned below with the results if the record check(s).

I also release the Cabinet for Families and Children, its officers, agents, and employees, from any liability or damages resulting from the release of this information.

Signature of the Individual Submitting to the CAN Central Registry Check

Date

Witness










Date

NAME OF FAMILY CERTIFIED HOME PROVIDER: _________________________________________________

ADDRESS: 






 CITY:                     





STATE: 



 ZIP: 


 PHONE: 

           


RESULTS OF CAN CENTRAL REGISTRY CHECK [FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY] 

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  No substantiated incident of child abuse or neglect found on the registry at the time of this check.

 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Substantiated child abuse found on the registry
     Date of substantiated finding:  ____________________________
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Substantiated child neglect found on the registry       Date of substantiated finding:  ____________________________
CHECK CONDUCTED ON ______________________ BY _______________________________________________




Rev. 11/03
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                        DOCUMENTS
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Summary of Immunization Requirements for School, Daycare & Head Start

(Refer to 902 KAR 2:060 for details on exceptions and exemptions)

	If a child is this age
	These immunizations are required for attendance

	<3 months
	None

	(3 - <5 months
	1 DTaP or DTP; 1 IPV or OPV; 1 Hib; 1 Hep B

	(5 - <7 months
	2 DTaP or DTP, or combination of the two; 2 IPV or OPV, or combination of the two; 2 Hib; 2 Hep B

	(7 - <12 months
	3 DTaP or DTP, or combination of the two; 2 OPV or IPV, or combination of the two; 3 Hib1 ;2 Hep B

	(12 - <16 months
	3 DTaP or DTP, or combination of the two; 2 OPV or IPV, or combination of the two; 3 Hib1,2 ; 3 Hep B

	(16 - <19 months
	4 DTaP or DTP, or a combination of the two; 2 OPV or IPV, or a combination of the two; 4 Hib1,2  ; 3 Hep B; 1 MMR ( 12 months of age

	(19 - 49 months
	4 DTaP or DTP, or a combination of the two; 3 OPV or IPV, or a combination of the two; 4 Hib1,2 ; 1MMR (12 months of age; 1 Varicella3 ;  3 Hep B

	(49 months - <5 years
	4 DTaP or DTP, or a combination of the two; 3 OPV or IPV, or a combination of the two; 4 Hib1,2; 1 MMR ( 12 months of age & 2nd measles containing vaccine; 3 Hep B; 1 Varicella3

	( 5 years - <7 years
	5 DTaP or DTP4 , or a combination of the two; 4 OPV or IPV5 , or a combination of the two; 1 MMR ( 12 months of age & 2nd measles containing vaccine; 3 Hep B; 1 Varicella3 

	(7 years
	5 DTaP or DTP4, or combination of the two; 1 dose of Td given at 11-12 years of age, if at least five (5) years has elapsed since the last dose of DTaP, DTP, TT , DT or Td; 4 OPV or IPV5 ,or combinations of the two; 1 MMR ( 12 months of age & 2nd measles containing vaccine for children born 10/01/90 or later; 3 Hep B6 for those born 10/1/92 or later

	At 6th grade entry
	1 MMR ( 12 months of age and 2nd measles containing vaccine; 3 Hep B6

	(10 years since last DTaP, DTP or Td
	1 Td


Notes:

1. If first two doses of Hib vaccine were meningococcal protein conjugate, the third dose may be omitted and the child shall be considered as having received three (3) doses.

2. If Hib vaccine has been administered on or after 15 months of age, the child is not required to have further doses.

3. One (1) dose of varicella, unless a parent, guardian, or physician states that the child has had chickenpox disease.

4. If the 4th dose of DT, DTP or DTaP was administered on or after the fourth birthday, the fifth dose shall not be required.

5. If the 3rd dose of IPV or OPV was administered on or after the fourth birthday, the fourth dose shall not be required.

6. Children 11-15 years of age may receive an alternate two-dose series consisting of two 10 mcg doses of Merck’s RecombivaxHB separated by 4-6 months

Rev. 3/27/03

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

IMMUNIZATION CERTIFICATE

(Required of each child enrolled in a public or private school, preschool program, day care center,

certified family child care home, or other licensed facility which cares for children.)

Name of Child________________________________________________________Birthdate_________________________________
                    (Last)
           (First)

(Middle)

Name of Parent or Guardian_____________________________________________________________________________
Address_______________________________________________________________________________________________

(Street)
(City)
(State)

(Zip Code)

DATES ADMINISTERED (month/day/year)

DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS*#1__/___/__#2____/___/___#3___/___/___#4___/___/___#5___/___/___
POLIO VACCINES  
      #1___/___/___#2___/___/__#3___/___/___#4___/___/___

MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella)**
      #1___/____/____#2___/___/___
______ ____/____/____ _____
___/___/___


Other
Other

Hib***
      #1____/____/____#2____/____/____#3____/____/____#4____/____/____


Hepatitis B**** #1____/____/____ #2____/____/____ #3____/___/___ or #1____/____/____ #2____/____/___ (adult dose)

Varicella *****  #1____/____/____  or child has had chickenpox disease  (X) ______.

*DTaP, DTP, DT, Td   **MMR  for one dose, measles-containing for second.   ***Hib not required at age 5 years or more.  **** Alternative two dose series of approved  adult hepatitis B vaccine for  children 11-15 years of age.   *****Varicella  required for children 19 months to 7 years unless a parent, guardian or physician states that the child has had chickenpox disease.  
This child is current for immunizations until ____/____/____, (two weeks after the next shot is due)  after which this certificate is no longer valid and a new certificate must be obtained.

I CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE NAMED CHILD HAS RECEIVED IMMUNIZATIONS AS STIPULATED ABOVE.

Signature of physician, Health Dept., or their designee:______________________________________Date:____________
This Certificate should be presented to the school or facility in which the child intends to enroll and should be retained by the school or facility and filed with the child’s health record.
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        FOR ILLUSTRATION PURPOSES

CHILDREN AND PARENT RIGHTS

PURSUANT TO KRS 199.898

All children receiving child-care services in a day-care center licensed pursuant to KRS 199.896, a family child-care home certified pursuant to KRS 199.8982, or from a provider or program receiving public funds shall have the following rights:

(a) The right to be free from physical or mental abuse;

(b) The right not to be subjected to abusive language or abusive punishment; and

(c) The right to be in the care of adults who shall meet their health, safety and developmental needs.

Parents, custodians or guardians of children specified in subsection (1) of this section shall have the following rights:

(a) The right to have access to their children at all times the child is in care and access to the provider caring for their children during normal hours of provider operation and whenever the children are in the care of the provider;

(b) The right to be provided with information about child-care regulatory standards, if applicable; where to direct questions about regulatory standards; and how to file a complaint; 

(c) The right to file a complaint against a child-care provider without any retribution against the parent, custodian, guardian or child;

(d) The right to obtain information from the cabinet regarding any type of licensure denial, suspension, or revocation of an operator, and cabinet reports that have found abuse or neglect by any child-care provider or any employee of a child-care provider.  Identifying information regarding children and their families shall remain confidential;

(e) The right to obtain information from the cabinet regarding the inspections and plans of correction of the day-care center, the family child care home, or the provider or program receiving public funds within the past year; and

(f) The right to review and discuss with the provider any state reports and deficiencies revealed by such reports.

The child-care provider who is licensed pursuant to KRS 199.896 or certified pursuant to KRS 199.8982 shall post these rights in a prominent place and shall provide a copy of these rights to the parent, custodian or guardian of the child at the time of the child’s enrollment in the program.

Effective: July 15, 1998

Division of Regulated Child Care, 275 East Main Street, 6E-B, Frankfort, KY 40621

Telephone # 502-564-7962
Rev/ 11/03
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CHILD CARE RESOURCE AND REFERRAL AGENCIES
(CCR&R’S)

A child care resource and referral agency (CCR&R) is a community 

Organization that provide supportive services to the local child care

system.   There  are  eleven  (11)   CCR & R  agency  in  Kentucky. 

Although each CCR&R functions differently, they provide similar

Services. Some of the services include:

· Publish a newsletter that addresses child care issues.

· Educates parents on quality child care.

· Recruits child care providers.

· Offers training and technical assistance to child care providers.

· Provides referral to licensed and certified child care programs.

· Offers help to those interested in starting a child care program.

· Consults with employees about meeting the child care needs of their employees.

· Identifies the needs of children and families in the community.

· Has access to an up-to-date listing of all child care providers in the area.

· Maintains a resource library that is available to child care providers.

Please contact Kentucky Partnership for Early Childhood Services 
Human Development Institute/ University of Kentucky 
126 Mineral Industries Building 
Lexington, KY 40506-0051 
Phone: (800) 956-8950
Fax: (859) 257-2769 

To find your Kentucky CCR&R or go to the following website:
http://www.kentuckypartnership.org/
THE CHILD AND ADULT CARE FOOD PROGRAM

The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) provide nutritious meals to participants enrolled in child care centers, day care homes, and adult care centers.  It gives young children a chance to try many different types of foods and helps teach them how to choose foods that are good for them.  

HOW DOES IT WORK?

Through the CACFP the federal government helps certain kinds of organizations and facilities pay for nutritious meals they serve to participants.  The program is available to:

*
Public and private nonprofit organizations providing licensed nonresidential day care services, such as:


*Day care centers


*Centers that care for school-age children when they are not in school


*Day care homes (homes licensed/approved to care for up to 12 children)


*Institutions providing day care for handicapped children


*Adult care centers

*
Private for-profit centers   

*
Others meeting program regulations

Child care centers, outside-school hours centers, and adult care centers can participate in the CACFP either independently or through a sponsoring organization that accepts full administrative and financial responsibility for the program.  Day care homes must participate through a sponsoring organization; they cannot enter the CACFP directly.

WHO CAN BE SERVED?

The CACFP can reimburse participating facilities and organizations for meals served to children 12 years and younger.  There are two exceptions:  children of migrant workers can be as old as 15 years old; and people with physical or mental handicaps can be any age if they receive care at a center where most of the enrollees are 18 years old or younger.  Adult day care centers are reimbursed for meals served to participants enrolled in the center for care.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

All institutions that receive funds through the CACFP must have a license/approval issued by the Cabinet for Families and Children. A sponsoring organization that is responsible for the administration of the CACFP funds does not have to be licensed for day care services, but the facility actually caring for children and adults must be licensed.

All non-private sponsors must have tax exempt status under the Internal Revenue Code of before they apply for participation in the CACFP.  Family day care homes are not required to be tax-exempt, but their sponsors that are private organizations must be tax-exempt.  

MEAL SERVICE

All institutions participating in the CACFP must serve meals that meet nutrition standards set by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.  Child care centers may receive reimbursement for up to two meals and one snack OR two snacks and one meal per child per day.  Adult day care centers and family day care homes may receive reimbursement for up to two meals and one snack per participant per day.

WHAT HELP IS AVAILABLE?

The CACFP provides financial assistance to child and adult care centers and sponsoring organizations of day care homes so the participants enrolled in day care can receive nutritious meals.

Program payments to child care centers, outside-school-hours care centers and adult care centers are calculated by the following equation:

Number of meals served to eligible participants

Multiplied by

The appropriate rates of reimbursement.

The rate for each participant depends on the size of the family and the family’s income.

All meals served by day care homes under the CACFP are reimbursed at the payment rate for that type meal.  Homes receive the full rate for each meal that meets program requirements.  The sponsoring organization must pass the full food service payment to the day care home, unless the sponsoring organization provides part of the home’s food service.

Day care home providers receive reimbursement for meals served to their own children only when (1) their household meets the family size and income standards for free and reduced-price meals and are participating in the CACFP and (2) other children who do not live in the home are enrolled and present in day care at the home and participating in the Program.  

Separate administrative funds are provided to sponsoring organizations for each home they sponsor.  

ADMINISTERING AGENCY

In Kentucky, the CACFP is administered by the Kentucky Department of Education.  For more details, write or call:

Denise Hagan, Program Manager

Division of Nutrition & Health Services

2545 Lawrenceburg Road

Frankfort, KY 40601

(502)564-5625

https://kyeascn1.state.ky.us/nutrition/cacfp.asp
The CACFP is available to all without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability.  If you believe you have been discriminated against, write immediately to the Secretary of Agriculture, Washington, D.C. 20250.

Printed with federal funds by the Kentucky Department of Education

FAMILY DAY CARE HOME FOOD PROGRAM SPONSORS

ASHLAND CHILD DEVELOPMENT 




P. O. Box 2246, 1516 Central Avenue

Ashland, KY 41105-2246

 (800) 624-4531, (606) 329-1744 or 1550

Counties served:  Boone, Breathitt, Bracken, Bourbon, Bell,

Bath, Boyd, Campbell, Clark, Clay, Carter, Estill, Elliott, 

Floyd, Fleming, Grant, Greenup, Harrison, Harlan, Jackson,

Johnson, Kenton, Knox, Knott, Laurel, Lee, Lewis, Lawrence,

Letcher, Leslie, Mason, Madison, Montgomery, Martin,

Menifee, Magoffin, Nicholas, Owsley, Perry, Pendleton,

Powell, Pike, Pulaski, Robertson, Rowan, Wolfe, Whitley
AUDUBON AREA COMMUNITY SERVICE
P. O. Box 20004, 1800 W. 4th St. (Zip 42302)

Owensboro KY  42304-0004

 (270)-686-1667 or 800-995-2277 FAX (270) 686-1656

Counties served:  Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, McLean, Muhlenburg,  Ohio, Todd, Trigg, Union, Webster
BRIGHTON CENTER, INC.

P. O. Box 325, 706 Park Street

Newport, KY 41072

 (859) 491-8303  Fax (859) 491-8702

Counties served:  Boone, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton

CENTRAL KY COMMUNITY ACTION COUNCIL

P. O. Box 830, 332 Hood Avenue

Lebanon, KY 40033

 (270) 692-2136    Fax (270) 692-4530

Counties served:  Adair, Breckinridge, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Lincoln, Marion, Meade, Nelson, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Washington, Wayne

CHILD CARE COUNCIL OF KY INC. 

1460 Newtown Pike, Suite 101

Lexington KY  40511 

 (859) 254-0876 or 800-809-7076  FAX (859) 225-5435

Counties served:  Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Nicholas, Powell, Scott, Woodford

CHILDREN, INC.

1053 Madison Avenue

Covington, KY 41011

 (859) 431-2075   Fax  (859) 431-5217

Counties served:  Boone, Campbell, Grant, Kenton, Pendleton, Owen, Carroll, Gallatin

COMMUNITY COORDINATED CHILD CARE

1215 South Third Street

Louisville KY  40203

 (502) 636-1358 or 800-928-1350 FAX (502)-636-1488

Counties served: Allen, Barren, Bullitt, Butler, Carroll, Edmonson, Hart, Henry, Jefferson, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Oldham, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Todd, Trimble, Warren
EASTERN KENTUCKY CHILD CARE COALITION
P. O. Box 267, 1835 Big Hill Road
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SECTION IV

REGULATORY INFORMATION
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922 KAR 2:100. Certification of family child care homes.

RELATES TO: KRS 13B.005-13B.070, 13B.125, 17.165, 186.020, 199.894(5), 199.896(18), 199.898, 199.8982, 214.036, 600.020(1), 620.030

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: KRS 13B.170, 199.8982(1)(f)

NECESSITY, FUNCTION, AND CONFORMITY: KRS 199.8982(1)(f) requires the cabinet to promulgate administrative regulations to establish standards for the issuance, monitoring, release of information, renewal, denial, revocation, and suspension of a certificate of operation, and to impose minimum staff-to-child ratios for a family child care home. The statute authorizes the cabinet to establish minimum safety requirements for operation of a certified family child care home. This administrative regulation establishes minimum requirements intended to protect the health, safety, and welfare of children cared for by certified family child care home providers.

Section 1. Definitions. (1) "Assistant" means a person:

(a) Sixteen (16) years of age or older;

(b) Under direct supervision of a provider or substitute provider; and

(c) Who meets the requirements listed in Section 2(3) of this administrative regulation.

(2) "Child" means a person under:

(a) Thirteen (13) years of age; or

(b) Eighteen (18) years of age if the minor has a special need in which supervision is required.

(3) "Corporal physical discipline" is defined by KRS 199.896(18).

(4) "Employee" means a person who:

(a) Works either paid or unpaid for a certified family child care home provider; and

(b) Meets the requirements of Sections 2(2)(a), (3), and (6) of this administrative regulation.

(5) "Family child care home" is defined by KRS 199.894(5).

(6) "Home" means the private primary residence of the certified family child care home provider.

(7) "Infant" means a child who is less than twelve (12) months of age.

(8) "Provider" means an owner, operator, or person who:

(a) Provides care for preschool children, school-age children, or both, inside his own home for less than twenty-four (24) hours a day;

(b) Is not required to be licensed under 922 KAR 2:090; and

(c) Meets the requirements of Section 2 of this administrative regulation.

(9) "Provider's own related children" means:

(a) The provider's own child or children;

(b) A child or children in the provider's legal custody;

(c) The provider's grandchild or grandchildren;

(d) The provider's niece or nieces;

(e) The provider's nephew or nephews;

(f) The provider's stepchild or stepchildren; or

(g) The provider's sibling.

(10) "Substitute provider" means a person who shall:

(a) Be used in the absence of a certified family child care home provider; and

(b) Meet the requirements of Section 10(8) and (9) of this administrative regulation.

(11) "Toddler" means a child between the age of twelve (12) months and twenty four (24) months.

Section 2. Certification Process. (1) The Department for Community Based Services shall be responsible for certifying a family child care home.

(2) An applicant for certification shall:

(a) Be at least eighteen (18) years of age;

(b) Submit within ninety (90) days of initiation of the application process:

1. A completed DCC-178, Application for Family Child Care Certification;

2. A completed DCC-179, Self-Check List; and

3. A nonrefundable certification fee pursuant to KRS 199.8982(1)(b);

(c) Meet the requirements of KRS 199.8982(1)(a); and

(d) Submit to a check of the central registry in accordance with 922 KAR 1:470.

(3) An adult living in the home of the applicant, an applicant’s assistant, employee, and substitute shall submit:

(a) To a criminal records check required by KRS 17.165 within the past year by the Kentucky State Police or Administrative Office of the Courts;

(b) To a check of the central registry in accordance with 922 KAR 1:470; and

(c) Written verification from a licensed health care professional or a health department that the individual is free of active tuberculosis.

(4) Upon receipt of a completed application for certification, and a nonrefundable certification fee pursuant to KRS 199.8982(1)(b), cabinet staff shall:

(a) Review and process the application; and

(b) Conduct an unannounced inspection of the home pursuant to KRS 199.8982(1)(b).

(5) If the requirements of subsections (2) and (3) of this section have been met, an applicant shall be certified for a two (2) year period.

(6) Within three (3) months of submission to the cabinet of a complete DCC-178, an applicant shall demonstrate completion of training as required by KRS 199.8982(1)(a)6.

(7) The family child care home certificate shall:

(a) Be displayed in a prominent place, as required by KRS 199.8982(1)(c);

(b) Contain:

1. The name and address of the child care provider;

2. Maximum number of unrelated children who may be served;

3. Identification number; and

4. Effective and expiration date; and

(c) Be valid for only the:

1. Name of the individual authorized on the certificate to operate a family child care home; and

2. Residential address printed on the certificate.

(8) Family child care certification shall be renewed every two (2) years. The family child care home provider shall submit at least one (1) month prior to the expiration of certification:

(a) A completed DCC-178, Application for Family Child Care Certification;

(b) A nonrefundable renewal fee pursuant to KRS 199.8982(1)(b);

(c) A physician’s statement documenting the family child care home provider’s health is satisfactory for continued operation of a family child care home; and

(d) Proof that the family child care home provider continues to meet the minimum requirements specified in Sections 2, 3, and 10 through 14 of this administrative regulation.

(9) A change of location shall require:

(a) A completed DCC-178, Application for Family Child Care Certification; and

(b) An inspection of the new home.

Section 3. Denial of Application for Certification. (1) An application for initial certification or renewal of certification as a family child care home provider shall be denied if the applicant, assistant, employee, substitute, or an adult residing in the household who has direct contact with a minor has:

(a) Abused or neglected a child according to a check of the central registry in accordance with 922 KAR 1:470; or

(b) A history of behavior that may impact the safety or security of a child in care including:

1. A criminal conviction of a violent crime or sex crime as defined in KRS 17.165;

2. A conviction for a drug-related felony; or

3. Other behavior or condition indicating inability to provide reliable care to a child.

(2) An application for certification as a family child care home shall be denied if the applicant:

(a) Fails to comply with the minimum certification standards specified in Sections 10 through 14 of this administrative regulation and KRS 199.8982; or

(b) Knowingly misrepresents or offers false information on the application or other form required by the cabinet, pursuant to 922 KAR Chapter 2.

(3) Effect of previous denial or revocation:

(a) If an applicant for certification has had a prior certificate or license to operate a child care business denied or revoked, the cabinet shall grant the applicant a certificate to operate a family child care home if:

1. A two (2) year period has expired from the date of the prior denial or revocation; and

2. The applicant has:

a. The ability to comply with the provisions of this administrative regulation and KRS 199.8982;

b. Completed, since the time of the prior denial or revocation, sixty (60) hours of cabinet-approved training in developmentally appropriate child care practice; and

c. Not had an application, certificate, or license to operate as a child care provider denied or revoked for:

(i) Conviction of a violent crime or sex crime as defined in KRS 17.165; or

(ii) Abuse or neglect of a child according to a check of the central registry in accordance with 922 KAR 1:470.

(b) If a certificate is granted after the two (2) year period specified in paragraph (a) of this subsection, the provider shall serve a two (2) year probationary period during which the home shall be inspected on at least a quarterly basis.

Section 4. Intermediate Sanctions. (1) If the cabinet determines that a certified family child care home provider is in violation of this administrative regulation, the cabinet may:

(a) Require the provider to participate in additional training;

(b) Increase the frequency of monitoring by cabinet staff;

(c) Enter into an agreement with the provider detailing the requirements for remedying a violation and achieving compliance; or

(d) Notify or require the provider to notify a parent of a child who may be affected by the situation for which an intermediate sanction has been imposed.

(2) An intermediate sanction may result in a nonemergency suspension or revocation of certification if a certified family child care home provider:

(a) Fails to meet a condition of the intermediate sanction; or

(b) Violates a requirement of an intermediate sanction.

Section 5. Nonemergency Suspension. (1) If the cabinet determines that a certified family child care home provider is in violation of this administrative regulation or fails to correct a deficiency by the date specified on the corrective action plan, a nonemergency suspension for a period not to exceed sixty (60) calendar days may occur.

(2) At least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the start date of a nonemergency suspension, a certified family child care home provider shall receive by personal service or through certified mail, return receipt requested, a written notice from the cabinet that:

(a) Specifies the:

1. Effective date;

2. Duration of the suspension; and

3. Corrective action necessary for reinstatement of the certification;

(b) Explains the reason for the suspension;

(c) Advises the family child care home provider of the right to request an appeal prior to the effective date of the nonemergency suspension;

(d) Specifies that the nonemergency suspension shall be stayed if an appeal is requested;

(e) Specifies that if the provider does not request an appeal of the nonemergency suspension or if the nonemergency suspension is upheld following the hearing, the provider shall cease operation of the family child care home during the period recommended for suspension;

(f) Specifies that suspension may lead to revocation; and

(g) Requires the family child care home provider to surrender the certificate of operation to the cabinet when the suspension becomes effective.

(3) If a certified family child care home provider’s certification has been suspended for a nonemergency reason, the cabinet or designated staff shall make reasonable efforts to:

(a) Notify a parent of each child in care; and

(b) Assist the parent in securing alternate child care arrangements.

(4) By the end of the nonemergency suspension period, certification shall be:

(a) Reinstated; or

(b) Revoked for failure to take corrective action necessary for reinstatement of the certification.

Section 6. Emergency Suspension. The cabinet shall take emergency action in accordance with KRS 13B.125, by issuing an emergency order that results in suspension of the operation of a certified family child care home.

(1) An emergency order shall:

(a) Be served to a certified family child care home provider by:

1. Certified mail, return receipt requested; or

2. Personal service; and

(b) Specify corrective action necessary for reinstatement of certification.

(2) Upon receipt of an emergency order, the provider shall surrender the certificate of operation to the cabinet.

(3) The cabinet or its designee shall make reasonable efforts to:

(a) Notify a parent of each child in care of the suspended provider; and

(b) Assist a parent in securing alternate child care arrangements.

(4) The provider's certification for operation of a family child care home shall be revoked if:

(a) The provider does not request a hearing; or

(b) The condition that resulted in the emergency order has not been corrected.

Section 7. Revocation. (1) A family child care home provider’s certification shall be revoked if the provider:

(a) Knowingly misrepresents or offers false information on the application or other form required by the cabinet pursuant to 922 KAR Chapter 2;

(b) Interferes with a cabinet representative’s ability to perform an official duty;

(c) Refuses, during the hours of operation, access by a parent or cabinet representative to:

1. A child; or

2. Space in the home used for child care;

(d) Is convicted of a criminal charge that threatens the health, safety, or welfare of a child in care;

(e) Is unable to operate a family child care home due to a medical condition; or

(f) Is unable to continue to meet the requirements of KRS 199.8982(1) or Sections 2, 3, and 10 through 14 of this administrative regulation.

(2) If the cabinet determines that a condition of subsection (1) of this section exists, a written notice of revocation from the cabinet shall be delivered by personal service or through certified mail, return receipt requested, at least thirty (30) days prior to the effective date of the revocation. The notice shall:

(a) Explain the reason for the revocation;

(b) Specify that the child care provider shall cease operation as a certified family child care home upon revocation;

(c) Advise the family child care home provider of the right to request an appeal prior to the effective date of the revocation;

(d) Specify that revocation shall be stayed if an appeal is requested; and

(e) Require the family child care home provider to surrender the certificate of operation to cabinet staff when the revocation becomes effective.

(3) If a provider’s certification has been revoked, the cabinet or designated staff shall make reasonable efforts to:

(a) Notify a parent of each child in care; and

(b) Assist the parent in securing alternate child care arrangements.

Section 8. Appeal of Denials, Intermediate Sanctions, Nonemergency Suspension and Revocation. (1) If the cabinet denies certification, imposes an intermediate sanction, suspends certification for a nonemergency situation, or revokes certification, the family child care home provider shall be afforded a hearing in accordance with KRS Chapter 13B.

(2) If an intermediate sanction or nonemergency suspension leads to revocation of certification, no further appeal shall be permitted.

Section 9. Appeal of Emergency Suspension. (1) A certified family child care home provider may appeal an emergency order suspending operations, in compliance with KRS 13B.125(3).

(2) If a hearing officer’s final order does not uphold an emergency suspension, the provider may resume providing child care.

Section 10. Standards for the Provider. (1) Upon approval of certification as a family child care home, the provider shall:

(a) Meet minimum requirements established in KRS 199.8982 and Sections 2, 3, and 10 through 14 of this administrative regulation;

(b) Complete annually at least six (6) hours of cabinet-approved child development training beginning with the second year of operation; and

(c) Obtain commercial liability insurance of at least $50,000 per child, per occurrence.

(2) A provider shall not provide care for more unrelated children than the number authorized on the certificate of operation.

(3) If the provider cares for more than four (4) infants, including the provider's own or related infants, the provider shall have an assistant present.

(4) A provider shall not care for more than six (6) children under the age of six (6) years old, including the provider's own or related children.

(5) The maximum number of unrelated children in the care of a certified family child care home provider shall not exceed six (6). A provider may care for four (4) related children in addition to six (6) unrelated children for a maximum child care capacity of ten (10).

(6) The certified family child care home provider shall be currently certified in:

(a) Infant and child cardiopulmonary resuscitation or "CPR" by an agency approved by the cabinet or Board of Emergency Services; and

(b) Infant and child first aid by an agency approved by the cabinet or Board of Emergency Services.

(7) If a provider operates the in-home child care business for twenty-four (24) consecutive hours, the provider shall:

(a) Receive an eight (8) hour period of respite after working sixteen (16) consecutive hours; and

(b) Employ an assistant or employee during the period of respite.

(8) A substitute provider shall be:

(a) Eighteen (18) years of age or older;

(b) Certified by a cabinet-approved agency in:

1. Infant and child CPR; and

2. Infant and child first aid.

(9) A substitute provider used in the absence of the family child care home provider in excess of fourteen (14) calendar days during a one (1) year period shall demonstrate completion of at least six (6) hours of cabinet-approved training in:

(a) Basic health, safety, and sanitation;

(b) Recognizing and reporting child abuse; and

(c) Developmentally-appropriate child care practice.

Section 11. The Family Child Care Home Environment. (1) The provider's home and each play area used for child care shall:

(a) Be safe; and

(b) Have adequate:

1. Heat;

2. Light; and

3. Ventilation.

(2) Each floor level used for child care shall have at least one (1):

(a) Unblocked exit to the outside;

(b) Smoke detector;

(c) Fire extinguisher; and

(d) Carbon monoxide detector if the home:

1. Uses fuel burning appliances; or

2. Has an attached garage.

(3) New applicants and providers who change location after the effective date of this administrative regulation shall:

(a) Meet the requirements of subsection (2)(b) through (d) of this section; and

(b) Have at least two (2) unblocked exits to the outside on each floor level used for child care.

(4) The home and areas accessible to children in care shall be free of hazards and the following items shall be inaccessible to a child in care:

(a) Cleaning supplies, poisons, paints, and insecticides;

(b) Knives, scissors and sharp objects;

(c) Power tools, lawn mowers, hand tools, nails, and other equipment;

(d) Matches, cigarettes, lighters, combustibles, and flammable liquids;

(e) Alcoholic beverages;

(f) Plastic bags; and

(g) Litter and rubbish.

(5) Medication, including medicine that requires refrigeration shall be stored in a container or area with a lock to ensure a child is unable to access the medication within the container or area.

(6) Guns shall be stored in a locked container which, in order to be opened, requires a:

(a) Key; or

(b) Combination.

(7) Electrical outlets not in use shall be covered.

(8) An electric fan, floor furnace, or freestanding heater or fireplace, shall:

(a) Be out of the reach of a child; or

(b) Have a safety guard to protect a child from injury.

(9) The home shall have:

(a) At least one (1) working telephone on each level used for child care with a residential or commercial line; and

(b) A list of emergency numbers posted by each telephone, including numbers for the:

1. Police;

2. Fire station;

3. Emergency medical care, rescue squad; and

4. Poison control center.

(10) Equipment and toys shall be:

(a) Developmentally appropriate to the age of children in care;

(b) In sufficient quantity for the number of children in care; and

(c) Safe, sound, clean, and in good repair.

(11) Television or video viewing by a child shall be limited to developmentally-appropriate child-related content.

(12) Stairs and steps used for children in care shall be:

(a) Solid;

(b) Safe; and

(c) Railed.

(13) If an infant or toddler is in the care of a provider, indoor stairs with more than two (2) steps shall be blocked.

(14) The provider shall:

(a) Maintain first aid supplies that are easily accessible for use in an emergency, but these supplies shall be inaccessible to the children in care; and

(b) Wash superficial wounds with soap and water before bandaging.

(15) First aid supplies shall include a fully-equipped first aid kit containing the following nonexpired items:

(a) Liquid soap;

(b) Adhesive bandages;

(c) Sterile gauze;

(d) Medical tape;

(e) Scissors;

(f) A thermometer;

(g) Flashlight;

(h) Cold pack;

(i) First-aid book;

(j) Disposable gloves; and

(k) A CPR mouthpiece.

(16) Exclusive of the bathroom and storage area, an indoor area, including furnishings, used for child care shall contain at least thirty-five (35) square feet per child for:

(a) Play; and

(b) Activities that meet the developmental needs of the children in care.

(17) An outdoor play area shall be free of hazards.

(18) Each child in an outdoor play area shall be under the direct supervision of the provider, substitute, employee, or assistant.

(19) Outdoor stationary play equipment shall be:

(a) Securely anchored;

(b) Developmentally appropriate;

(c) Age appropriate; and

(d) Safe.

(20) A trampoline shall not be accessible to a child in the care of a provider.

(21) A swimming pool on the premises shall:

(a) Be maintained;

(b) Have a water filtering system;

(c) Be supervised when in use; and

(d) Be inaccessible when not in use.

(22) A fire and tornado drill shall be conducted during hours of operation:

(a) At least monthly; and

(b) Documented.

(23) An earthquake drill shall be conducted during hours of operation:

(a) At least quarterly; and

(b) Documented.

(24) During hours of operation, the provider, and other persons in the home shall:

(a) Be free of the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, except for use of a controlled substance prescribed by a physician; and

(b) Prohibit smoking in the presence of children in care.

(25) During a provider's absence, a substitute provider shall be physically present at the home during hours of operation.

(26) A provider shall not be employed outside of the home during regular hours of operation.

(27) The home shall:

(a) Be clean;

(b) Be uncluttered;

(c) Be free of insects and rodents;

(d) Have a water supply that is:

1. Properly located;

2. Protected;

3. Adequate; and

4. Of a source approved by the local health department; and

(e) Have bathrooms, including toilets, sinks, and potty chairs that are:

1. Sanitary; and

2. In good working condition.

(28) The provider, assistant, substitute, and each employee shall:

(a) Wash hands with soap and running water before and after diapering a child;

(b) Assure that a covered, leak-proof container is:

1. Available for soiled diapers;

2. Emptied daily; and

3. Cleaned daily;

(c) Use sanitary procedures when preparing and serving food;

(d) Assure that a child shall not share:

1. Cups;

2. Eating utensils;

3. Wash cloths; and

4. Towels; and

(e) Refrigerate perishable food and beverages.

(29) The refrigerator shall:

(a) Be in working order; and

(b) Have a working thermometer demonstrating that the refrigerator is maintained at a temperature of forty-five (45) degrees Fahrenheit or below.

(30) Except if thawed for preparation or use, frozen food shall be kept at a temperature of zero degrees Fahrenheit as verified by a thermometer in the freezer.

(31) Unless provided as part of the fee for child care, an infant's formula shall be prepared and provided by the parent.

(32) If more than one (1) bottle-fed child is in the care of the provider, each child's bottle shall be labeled.

(33) While feeding an infant, the:

(a) Child shall be held; and

(b) Bottle shall not be:

1. Propped; or

2. Left in the mouth of a sleeping infant.

(34) Milk or milk products served shall be pasteurized.

(35) Meals shall:

(a) Be served in an amount appropriate to the age of the child; and

(b) Include appropriate types of food according to the age of the child.

(36) Breakfast shall include:

(a) Milk;

(b) Bread; and

(c) Fruit or vegetable or 100 percent juice.

(37) A snack shall include two (2) of the following:

(a) Milk;

(b) Protein source;

(c) Fruit or vegetable or 100 percent juice; or

(d) Bread.

(38) Lunch and dinner shall include:

(a) Milk;

(b) Protein source;

(c) Two (2) vegetables or a fruit and one (1) vegetable; and

(d) Bread.

(39) Windows and doors shall be screened for ventilation.

(40) A household pet shall be vaccinated for rabies.

(41) Indoor and outdoor garbage shall be stored in a waterproof container with a tight-fitting cover.

(42) Adequate space shall be provided at rest-time for each child in care more than four (4) hours:

(a) Rest-time area shall be comfortable, clean, safe, and in good repair.

(b) Individual linens shall be:

1. Provided for each child; and

2. Changed:

a. At least weekly; or

b. If soiled or wet, immediately.

(43) If overnight care is provided, the caregiver shall:

(a) Remain awake until every child in care is asleep;

(b) Sleep on the same floor level of the home as an infant or toddler; and

(c)1. Provide an individual bed, crib, playpen, or cot with comfortable, clean, and safe bedding for each child.

2. The crib or playpen shall meet the Consumer Products Safety Commission Standards.

(44) A written and posted routine plan shall be established for daily:

(a) Activity;

(b) Opportunity for outdoor play; and

(c) Reading.

(45) A child who is not asleep shall be visually supervised.

(46) Except for a school-aged child whose parent has given written permission and whose whereabouts are known, a child shall not be permitted off of the premises without the caregiver.

(47) Use of corporal physical discipline is prohibited, pursuant to KRS 199.896(18).

(48) A child shall be released from the family child care home to:

(a) The child's custodial parent;

(b) The person designated in writing by the parent to receive the child; or

(c) In an emergency, a person designated over the telephone by the parent.

(49) To assure a healthy environment, the provider shall maintain a:

(a) Current immunization certificate for each child within thirty (30) days of enrollment, unless an attending physician or parent objects to the immunization of a child pursuant to KRS 214.036;

(b) DCC-180, "Child's Health and Emergency Information":

1. Completed and signed by the child's parent or guardian; and

2. Retained on file on the first day the child attends and include:

a. The child's name, address, and date of birth;

b. The name of each individual to whom the child may be released;

c. The general status of the child's health;

d. Allergies or restrictions on the child's participation in activities, with specific instructions from the child's parent or physician;

e. The name and phone number of each person to be contacted in an emergency situation;

f. The name and phone number of the child's physician and preferred hospital; and

g. Authorization by the parent or guardian for the provider to seek emergency medical care in the parent's absence.

(50) A provider shall provide immediate notification of a medical emergency to the:

(a) Parent;

(b) Person exercising custodial control; or

(c) Family physician, if the parent or person exercising custodial control is unavailable.

(51) A quiet, separate area that can be easily supervised shall be provided for a child too sick to remain with other children.

(52) Prescription medication shall not be administered to a child in care, except if authorized by:

(a) A licensed physician; and

(b) The daily written request of the parent or guardian.

(53) Nonprescription medication shall be administered to a child only with written daily request of parent or guardian.

(54) The caregiver shall:

(a) Be able to recognize symptoms of childhood illnesses;

(b) Be able to provide basic first aid;

(c) Maintain a child care program that assures affirmative steps are taken to protect children from abuse or neglect pursuant to KRS 600.020; and

(d) Maintain daily attendance records documenting the arrival and departure time of each child.

Section 12. Transportation. (1) If transportation is provided or arranged by the certified family child care home provider, the provider shall:

(a) Have written permission from a parent or guardian to transport his child;

(b) Have a car or van equipped with seat belts;

(c) Require that a child:

1. Be individually seat-belted;

2. Remain seated while the vehicle is in motion; and

3. If a child is under forty (40) inches in height:

a. Be transported in the back seat; and

b. Restrained in a federally-approved motor vehicle safety seat in good repair;

(d) Have a valid driver's license issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles;

(e) Have emergency and identification information about each child in the vehicle if children are being transported; and

(f) Conform to state laws pertaining to vehicles, drivers license, and insurance pursuant to KRS 186.020.

(2) A child shall not be left unattended in a vehicle.

(3) The back of a pickup truck shall not be used to transport a child.

Section 13. Records. (1) A certified family child care home provider shall maintain the confidentiality of a child's records.

(2) The cabinet shall provide, upon request, public information pursuant to KRS 199.8982(1)(d) and (e).

(3) The provider shall:

(a) Report an incident of suspected child abuse or neglect pursuant to KRS 620.030(1); and

(b) Provide the cabinet access and information in the completion of the investigation pursuant to KRS 620.030(3).

Section 14. Certified Family Child Care Home Program. The certified family child care home provider shall:

(1) Develop written information that specifies the:

(a) Rate for child care; and

(b) Expected frequency of payment for the program;

(2) Make available a copy of the certification standards to each parent;

(3) Provide each parent with the name, address, and telephone number of the cabinet for the purpose of registering a complaint if the parent believes the family child care home provider is not meeting the standards;

(4) Post and provide to each parent a copy of children and parent rights, as required by KRS 199.898;

(5) Allow a parent to visit and observe the program during the hours of operation; and

(6) Communicate with each child's parent about the child's:

(a) Development;

(b) Activities;

(c) Likes; and

(d) Dislikes.

Section 15. Incorporation by Reference. (1) The following material is incorporated by reference:

(a) "DCC-178, Application for Family Child Care Certification, edition 11/03";

(b) "DCC-179, Self Check List, edition 11/03"; and

(c) "DCC-180, Child’s Health and Emergency Information, edition 11/03".

(2) This material may be inspected, copied, or obtained, subject to applicable copyright law, at the Department for Community-Based Services, Cabinet for Health and Family Services, 275 East Main Street, Frankfort, Kentucky 40621, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (19 Ky.R. 663; Am. 954; 1090; eff. 11-9-92; 20 Ky.R. 155; 556; 806; eff. 10-13-93; 23 Ky.R. 2884; eff. 2-19-97; 25 Ky.R. 1241; 1657; 1894; eff. 1-19-99; Recodified from 905 KAR 2:100, 2-1-99; 27 Ky.R. 1642; 2181; eff. 2-1-2001; 30 Ky.R. 497; 945; 1295; eff. 11-19-03.)
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