Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Join our email list

About the KCCVS

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS) manages Kentucky’s AmeriCorps national service programs. The commission is a statewide, bipartisan group of up to 25 members, appointed by the governor, with diverse service and volunteerism backgrounds.

The KCCVS was created in 1994 to serve as a conduit for federal funds that support AmeriCorps programs in the commonwealth, encourage and recognize volunteerism and assist in service program development. 

KCCVS funding is provided by the Corporation for National and Community Service and the Kentucky General Assembly. The Cabinet for Health and Family Services is the parent agency for the commission, providing administrative support and oversight.


To engage Kentuckians in volunteerism and service to positively impact our communities.


Joe Bringardner (photo by Marcia Goss)
Executive Director: Joe Bringardner 

Executive Assistant: Shannon Ramsey 

Program Officer: Carrie Stith-Webster 

Grants/Financial Officer: Jill Lancaster

Policy Advisor: Linda Harney 

Training Officer: Andrew GottWorth

Service Fellow: Ted Kizziar

Service Fellow: Emily Clark

Interested in applying for the Commission?

Follow the instructions on the Governor's Office Boards and Commissions website (online application portal or PDF). Don't forget to put "Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS)" in the top for the board/commission name. For more information, contact Shannon Ramsey.

Commission Information

Commission Leadership

Kevin Mays, Commission Chairman
Appointed 2010
Certified Public Accountant
Carr, Riggs & Ingram CPAs
Bowling Green/Warren County

Kevin Russell, Commission Vice Chairman
Appointed 2009
Information Technology Specialist
U.S. Government
Radcliff/Hardin County

Vacant, Commission Secretary

Daron Jordan, Immediate Past Chairman
Appointed 2009
Community Development Director
City of Madisonville
Madisonville/Hopkins County

Commission Members

Julian Bond
Appointed 2014
GEAR UP Kentucky
Council on Post Secondary Education
Frankfort/Franklin County

DeAnna Brangers
Appointed 2016
Volunteer Sector
Prospect/Jefferson County

Andrew Cole
Appointed 2016
Director of Campus Ministry
Thomas Moore College
Crestview Hills/Kenton County

Elizabeth Combs
Appointed 2011
Jackson Kelly PLLC
Lexington/Fayette County

Tamara Cox
Appointed 2010
Daniel Boone Community Action Agency
Mt. Vernon/Rockcastle County

Bill Farmer Jr.
Appointed 2010
United Way of the Bluegrass
Lexington/Fayette County

John Gillig
Appointed 2014
Retired, Public Policy
Frankfort/Franklin County

Peter Hayes
Appointed 2016
National Director
Service for Peace
Louisville/Jefferson County

Gary McCollum
Appointed 2014
Assistant General Counsel
Alliance Coal, LLC
Lexington/Fayette County

Megan Mortis
Appointed 2013
Public Information Officer
Henderson County Schools
Henderson/Henderson County

Lauren Palmer
Appointed 2014
College of Education Supervisor
Northern Kentucky University
Verona/Boone County

Madison Silvert
Appointed 2014
Greater Owensboro Economic Development
Owensboro/Daviess County

Lanny Taulbee
Appointed 2013
Retired, Disabilities Resource Coordinator
Lexington/Fayette County

Melissa Benton, Ex-Officio
Corporation for National and Community Service
Kentucky State Office Director

Commissioner Resources


KCCVS Committee Structure

KCCVS In-Kind Voucher (PDF)

KCCVS In-Kind Voucher (Word)

Travel Voucher (Excel)
Find the current mileage reimbursement rate here.


Last Updated 4/27/2017