Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

Health and Family Services Cabinet
Media Advisory: Ceremony to honor volunteer award winners

Press Release Date:  Monday, April 09, 2007  
Contact Information:  Shannon Ramsey, (502) 564-7420, ext. 4115 or Vikki Franklin, (502) 564-6786  

FRANKFORT, Ky. (April 9, 2007) – Cabinet for Health and Family Services Undersecretary Tom Emberton Jr. will present the 2006 Governor’s Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service at 2:30 p.m. on Monday, April 16, at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.
Sixteen winners, including adults, youth and groups, will be honored for outstanding volunteer service in 11 award categories.

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service, an agency of CHFS, sponsors the annual awards program.

For information on the winners and their awards, media may contact Shannon Ramsey, (502) 564-7420, ext. 4115, or Vikki Franklin, (502) 564-6786.

Award category     Award winner’s hometown/county
Make A Difference Day Traveling Award  Two Rivers Service Region
Business Group Award    London/Laurel County
Adult Challenge Award    Jackson/Breathitt County
National Service Group Award   Owensboro/Daviess County
National Service Individual Award  Henderson/Henderson County
Non-Profit Group Award    Lexington/Fayette County
Volunteer Support    Georgetown/Scott County
Adult Impact Award    Mt. Sterling/Montgomery County
Youth Impact Award    Carrollton/Carroll County
Adult Innovation Award    Lawrenceburg/Anderson County
Youth Innovation Award    Hardyville/Hart County
Director of Volunteers Award   Elizabethtown/Hardin County
Special Category: Individual Award for Volunteer
    Service through a Faith-Based Organization Ashland/Boyd County
Special Category: Group Award for Volunteer
    Service through a Faith-Based Organization London/Laurel County
Lifetime Achievement – Honoree #1  Russell Springs/Russell County
Lifetime Achievement – Honoree #2  Ft. Wright/Kenton County


Last Updated 4/9/2007