Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

Health and Family Services Cabinet
State Program Offers Help with Medicare Drug Plan Enrollment; Eligible recipients urged to choose a plan by May 15 deadline

Press Release Date:  Friday, April 21, 2006  
Contact Information:  Lisa Wallace
(502) 564-6786, Ext. 4013

Kentuckians with Medicare have until May 15 to sign up for a Medicare prescription drug plan during the initial enrollment period deadline. Those who enroll after the deadline may pay more for drug plan premiums. To find out if you qualify for help paying plan premiums, contact your local Social Security Administration office or call toll-free (800) 772-1213.

Anyone receiving Medicare Part A, Part B or both is eligible to enroll in a prescription drug plan, also called Medicare Part D. The State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP) provides one-on-one counseling to callers who need help enrolling in one of these plans. SHIP telephone assistance is available from the central program office helpline and through the 15 Area Agencies on Aging across Kentucky.  Most area offices also offer toll-free numbers. SHIP is administered in Kentucky by the Division of Aging Services in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services.

Kentuckians who want help choosing the Medicare prescription drug plan to meet their needs may call the statewide SHIP helpline or the area SHIP office of the Area Agency on Aging serving their county of residence. 

SHIP Statewide Helpline
Telephone:  (877) 293-7447 (Toll Free)

Barren River Area   
Telephone:  (270) 782-5740
Toll-Free:  (866) 452-9243
Serving Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Logan, Metcalfe, Monroe, Simpson and Warren counties

Big Sandy Area  
Telephone:  (606) 886-2374
Toll-Free:   (800) 737-2723
Serving Floyd, Johnson, Magoffin, Martin and Pike counties

Bluegrass Area  
Telephone:  (859) 233-4556, Ext. 236
Toll-Free:  (800) 928-4556, Ext. 236
Serving Anderson, Boyle, Bourbon, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Harrison, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Nicholas, Powell, Scott and Woodford counties

Buffalo Trace Area
Telephone:  (606) 784-8921
Toll-Free:  (800) 274-5863
Serving Bracken, Fleming, Lewis, Mason and Robertson counties
Cumberland Valley Area
Telephone:  (606) 546-5115
Toll-Free:  (800) 441-5115
Serving Bell, Clay, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Rockcastle and Whitley counties

Telephone:  (606) 784-8921
Toll-Free:  (800) 274-5863
Serving Boyd, Carter, Elliot, Greenup and Lawrence counties

Gateway Area
Telephone: (859) 233-4556
Toll-Free:  (800) 928-4556
Serving Bath, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan and Rowan counties

Green River Area
Telephone: (270)926-4433
Toll-Free:  (800) 928-9093
Serving Daviess, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Ohio, Union and Webster counties

Kentuckiana Regional Planning and Development Agency (KIPDA)
Telephone:  (502) 266-6084
Toll-Free:  (888) 737-3363
Serving Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer and Trimble counties

Kentucky River Area
Telephone:  (606) 439-2315
Toll-Free:  (800) 866-2315
Serving Breathitt, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Owsley, Perry and Wolfe counties

Lake Cumberland Area
Telephone: (606) 679-7313
Toll-Free:  (800) 866-7313
Serving Adair, Casey, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, McCreary, Pulaski, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties

Lincoln Trail Area
Telephone:  (270) 737-0669
Toll-Free:  (866) 275-5772
Serving Beckinridge, Grayson, Hardin, Larue, Marion, Meade, Nelson and
Washington counties

Northern Kentucky Area
Telephone:  (859) 431-8200
Toll-Free:  (800) 888-8189
Serving Boone, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Owen and Pendleton counties

Pennyrile Area
Telephone: (270) 886-6341
Toll-Free:  (800) 264-0643
Serving Caldwell, Crittenden, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Muhlenberg, Todd and Trigg counties

Christian County
Telephone:  (270) 886-8608   

Purchase Area
Telephone:  (270) 247-7171
Toll-Free:  (877) 352-5183
Serving Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Marshall and
McCracken counties


Last Updated 4/21/2006