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Steven L. Beshear
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Acting Secretary


Sent: Tuesday, February 19, 2008 3:58 PM

To:   LHD Directors

Subject:    Comp time

 

 

Hello Directors,

 

Friendly reminder to everyone concerning comp time.  The maximum amount is 200 hours per regulations below.  Any and all amounts above the 200 hour maximum are forfeited and have no value.  If you have questions or concerns on this or other issues, please contact me or any other LH personnel staff.  Thanks

 

Section 20. Earning of Compensatory Time. (1) An employee determined to be exempt under the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 USC 206, and Kentucky Wage and Labor Law, KRS Chapter 337, authorized by the appointing authority to work in excess of the prescribed thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours of duty in one (1) week shall accumulate compensatory time in fifteen (15) minute periods for excess time worked. The maximum amount of compensatory time accumulated shall be 200 hours.

(2) An employee shall have the prior approval of the appointing authority or the employee's immediate supervisor before compensatory leave may be earned.

(3) A nonexempt employee authorized by the appointing authority to work in excess of the prescribed thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours shall be paid at the employee's current salary for each hour not subject to the provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 USC 206, and Kentucky Wage and Labor Law, KRS Chapter 337.

Section 21. Using Accumulated Compensatory Time. (1) An employee who has accrued compensatory time shall be permitted by the appointing authority to take compensatory time off if practical and upon proper request by the employee.

(2) An employee who has accumulated at least thirty (30) hours of compensatory time may be paid for the accumulated leave by the appointing authority upon written request. If payment is approved by the appointing authority, it shall be at the employee's regular rate of pay and in thirty (30) hour increments.

(3) If an employee has accumulated the maximum amount of compensatory leave, the appointing authority shall pay the employee for at least fifty (50) hours of accumulated compensatory leave at the employee's regular rate of pay and shall reduce the employee's compensatory leave balance accordingly.

(4) Upon separation from service or transfer to another agency, unused compensatory time shall be reimbursed in a lump sum payment to the employee.

(5) Upon the death of an employee, the employee's estate shall be paid for unused accumulated compensatory time. (19 Ky.R. 2774; Am. 20 Ky.R. 377; eff. 9-3-93; 21 Ky.R. 593; eff. 9-21-94; 22 Ky.R. 1164; 1652; eff. 4-5-96; 24 Ky.R. 2210; 25 Ky.R. 118; 578; eff. 8-19-98; 27 Ky.R. 2263; 2816; eff. 4-9-2001.)
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