Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

2005 Governor's Volunteer Awards

Award Recipients Announced

Governor Ernie Fletcher and the Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service announced the recipients of the 2005 Governor's Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service on April 24 during a ceremony at the state capitol in Frankfort.

A panel of judges with volunteer and community service backgrounds chose 18 winners in 10 categories.

Governor Fletcher said Kentuckians volunteer at a rate that exceeds the national average. "The spirit of volunteerism and community service is almost a genetic trait for most Kentuckians," said Governor Fletcher. "That spirit of service established, built and sustains Kentucky. It always has and always will play a big role in this state's growth and success."

The Governor's Office launched the awards program in 1975. Since 1995, the KCCVS has administered the program.

Eileen Cackowski, the KCCVS director, said the awards program will include a new category next year to recognize volunteerism among the faith-based community.

"Every day, churches, temples, mosques and other religious congregations are giving the gifts of personal time, talent and resources to meet needs all across Kentucky," Cackowski said. "The Volunteering Through Faith Communities award category will shine much deserved light on this important segment of the service population."

For photos and details of the winners' accomplishments, click on the link below to view or download the Heart Line newsletter:

2006 Second Quarter/Governor's Awards Edition (PDF)

Documents and Images
Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert A. Reid, Simpsonville/Shelby County
Nominated by Edwin O. Walker, M.D.

Jane Stephenson, Lexington/Fayette County
Nominated by Shirley Thompson

Impact Youth Award

Colby Khoshreza, Pikeville/Pike County
Nominated by Rosalind Stanley

Impact Adult Award

Sandra Myers, Cadiz/Trigg County
Nominated by Tim McGinnis

Innovation Youth Award

Jon Preneta, Nicholasville/Jessamine County
Nominated by Jessica Melton

Innovation Adult Award

Linda Dalton, Ashland/Boyd County
Nominated by Pamela Huwieler

Citizen Corps Individual Award

Barb Cook, Covington/Kenton County
Nominated by Butch Callery

Citizens Corps Group Award

Dwayne Hite, Michael Jones and Joe Clary, Philpot/Daviess County
Nominated by Vicky Connor

Volunteer Support Award

Yum! Brands, Inc., Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Patricia Kenkel

National Service Individual Award

Billy Corder, Stearns/McCreary County
Nominated by Donna Thrush

National Service Group Award

Volunteers of the Pennyrile Allied Community Services-Retired and Senior Volunteer Program, Christian, Hopkins, Muhlenberg and Trigg Counties
Nominated by Patricia Evans

Non-Profit Group Award

Habitat for Humanity of Madison County, Richmond/Madison County
Nominated by Guy Patrick

Special Category Individual Award

Marilu Goodsell, Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Sondra Mattingly

Special Category Group Award

Oakland Mt. Zion Baptist Church, Oakland/Warren County
Nominated by Joyce Scheidt

Director of Volunteers Award

James Herman Garrett, Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Marilyn Markwell

Challenge Adult Award

George Moorman, Lexington/Fayette County
Nominated by Lynda Brown Wright, Ph.D.

Mary Smiley Banks, Henderson/Henderson County
Nominated by Cathy Campbell

Challenge Youth Award

Jamie Douglas, Williamsburg/Whitley County
Nominated by Vestena Robbins, Ph.D.

Make A Difference Day Award

Kentucky River Service Region


Last Updated 9/11/2008