Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

2006 Governor's Volunteer Awards

Award Recipients Announced

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service announced the recipients of the 2006 Governor's Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Service at a ceremony at the state Capitol in Frankfort on Monday, April 16. CHFS Undersecretary for Families and Children Tom Emberton Jr. presented the awards. 

A panel of judges with volunteer and community service backgrounds chose 15 winners in 11 categories.

“The volunteers we honor today help make Kentucky the great state that it is,” Undersecretary Emberton said. “It’s people like these volunteers, who recognize a need and take the initiative to fill it, who are truly making a difference in communities around the state.”

The Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program.

Eileen Cackowski, KCCVS director, said this year the awards program included a new category to recognize volunteerism among the faith-based community.

"Every day, churches, temples, mosques and other religious congregations are giving the gifts of personal time, talent and resources to meet needs all across Kentucky," Cackowski said. "The Faith-Based award category shined much deserved light on this important segment of the service population."

Documents and Images

2006 Governor's Awards Program

2006 Governor's Awards Winners Picture Slide Show - this slide show played at the ceremony

2006 Governor's Awards Ceremony Picture Slide Show - this slide show contains pictures from the ceremony

2006 Governor's Awards News Advisory 4-10-07

2006 Governor's Awards Press Release 4-16-07

For photos and details of the winners' accomplishments, click on the link below to view or download the Heart Line newsletter:

2007 Second Quarter/Governor's Awards Edition

2006 Award Recipients

Business Group Award

HSBC of London, Kentucky, London/Laurel County
Nominated by Cynthia J. Walker

Challenge Adult Award

Judy Hamilton, Jackson/Breathitt County
Nominated by Deborah K. Clemons

Director of Volunteers Award

Janet Druen, Elizabethtown/Hardin County
Nominated by Patrick Avery

Faith-Based Individual

Joy Daniel, Ashland/Boyd County
Nominated by Rebecca Clere

Faith-Based Group Award

The Lighthouse Rescue Mission/Scottie and Patty Sumner, London/Laurel County
Nominated by Joel and Charmaine Catron, Jennifer Smith, Amy Morgan, Brittany Boblett, Alexanderia Fryman and Anna Fischlein

Impact Adult Award

Norma L. Patton, Mt. Sterling/Montgomery County
Nominated by Angela S. Zeek

Impact Youth Award

Elizabeth “Hayley” Franklin, Carrollton/Carroll County
Nominated by Tracey Reynolds

Innovation Adult Award

Heather Bivens, Lawrenceburg/Anderson County
Nominated by Alice Blackwell

Innovation Youth Award

Cameron Lile, Hardyville/Hart County
Nominated by Brenda Chaney

Lifetime Achievement – Two Honorees

Rosan Medaris, Russell Springs/Russell County
Nominated by Christina Johnson

C.J. “Mac” Heidrich, Ft. Wright/Kenton County
Nominated by Barbara Howard

National Service Group

Members of The Learning Corps, Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Shannon Bailes

National Service Individual

Fred Griffin, Henderson/Henderson County
Nominated by Sondra Mattingly

Non-Profit Group Award

The Honor Guard of Man O’ War Post 8, The American Legion, Lexington/Fayette County
Nominated by John Kalbfleisch

Volunteer Support

Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Kentucky, Inc., Georgetown/Scott County
Nominated by William Taylor

Make A Difference Day Traveling Award

Two Rivers Service Region


Last Updated 9/11/2008