Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (Banner Imagery) - Go to home page

2007 Governor's Volunteer Awards

Award Recipients Announced

The Kentucky Commission on Community Volunteerism and Service (KCCVS) in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services announced the winners of the 2007 Governor’s Volunteer Awards. First Lady Jane Beshear presented the awards at an evening ceremony at the state Capitol in Frankfort on Thursday, May 8.

A panel of judges with volunteer and community service backgrounds chose 17 winners in 15 categories. Four additional special awards also were presented.

“Volunteers add tremendous value to the lives they touch and the communities they serve,” Mrs. Beshear said. “I want to thank you all for the difference you make and the example you set by carrying on one of Kentucky’s most cherished traditions, lending a hand to a neighbor in need.”

The Governor’s Office launched the volunteer awards program in 1975. Since 1995, KCCVS has administered the program.

Documents and Images

2007 Governor's Awards Program - read about the award recipients

2007 Governor's Awards Recipients Slide Show - this slide show played at the ceremony

2007 Governor's Awards Ceremony Slide Show - this slide show contains pictures from the ceremony

2007 Governor's Awards Press Release 5-9-08

For photos and details of the winners' accomplishments, click on the link below to view or download the Heart Line newsletter:

2008 Second/Third Quarter Edition

2007 Award Recipients

Business Group Award

Borders and Borders, PLC – Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Rob Locke

Challenge Adult Award

Chuck Thompson - Paducah/McCracken County
Nominated by Representative Fred Nesler

Challenge Youth Award

Rebecca Croucher - Berea/Madison County
Nominated by Paula Long Strunk

Director of Volunteers Award

Sister Kathleen Weigand, OSB - David/Floyd County
Nominated by Joyce Mitchell

Faith-Based Group Award

Kentucky Changers - Monticello/Wayne County
Nominated by Penny Thompson

Faith-Based Individual Award

Deborah Luedke - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by April Dickens

Impact Adult Award

Marilyn McLendon - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Jennifer Clark

Impact Youth Award

Alexandra “Alex” Jenkins - Cadiz/Trigg County
Nominated by Brenda Southwick

Innovation Adult Award

Amy Garon Benovitz - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Farrah Ferriell

Innovation Youth Award

Glenn L. Means III - Mt. Sterling/Montgomery County
Nominated by Donna Wilson

National Service Group Award

Audubon Area Senior Companion Program - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Robyn Mattingly

National Service Individual Award

Marian Dunville - Owensboro/Daviess County
Nominated by Cathy Campbell

Non-Profit Group Award – Two Honorees

Lewisburg North Logan Historical Commission - Lewisburg/Logan County
Nominated by Mayor Kenneth Whitson

St. Anthony's Hospice Volunteers - Henderson/Henderson County
Nominated by Darrell Monroe

Volunteer Support Award

Volunteers in Action - Bowling Green/Warren County
Nominated by Anne Grubbs

Lifetime Achievement Award – Two Honorees

Garnett Fairchild - Prestonsburg/Floyd County
Nominated by Melissa Vance

Robley H. Rex - Louisville/Jefferson County
Nominated by Marian Gosling

2007 Special Awards

Make A Difference Day Traveling Award: Department for Community Based Services Region

Two Rivers Service Region

Make A Difference Day Traveling Award: AmeriCorps Program

The Learning Corps - Owensboro/Daviess County

Kentucky Ambassador Award

Robert H. Merriam - Owensboro/Daviess County

Special Citation

Michala Riggle - Louisville/Jefferson County


Last Updated 9/11/2008