Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Who We Are

Our mission is to create systemic change that empowers individuals to achieve full citizenship and inclusion in the community through education, capacity building initiatives and strategic advocacy.

Our vision is for communities that fully engage, support, and provide equal opportunity for each individual to pursue the American dream as a fully integrated, valued and contributing citizen.

Programs &

Areas of Emphasis

At this time the Council is addressing the following:

Quality Assurance: People have the information, skills, opportunities and support to live free of abuse, neglect, financial and sexual exploitation, and violation of their human and legal rights and the inappropriate use of restraints or seclusion. Quality assurance systems contribute to and protect self-determination, independence, productivity and integration and inclusion in all facets of community life.

Health: People are healthy and benefit from the full range of needed health services.

Formal and Informal Community Supports: Individuals have access to other services available or offered in a community, including formal and informal community supports that affect their quality of life.

Education and Early Intervention: Students reach their educational potential and infants and young children reach their development potential.

Employment: People get and keep employment consistent with their interest, abilities and needs.

Transportation: People have transportation services for work, school, medical, and personal needs. 

There are a total of 9 areas of emphasis. The Council is currently addressing 6 of the 9. The three that the Council is not addressing is Housing, Recreation and Child Care.

What are Developmental Disabilities?

Section 102(8) of the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act (P.L. 160-402) of 2000 defines the term "developmental disability"


  1. IN GENERAL.—The term ''developmental disability'' means a severe, chronic disability of an individual that— 
    • is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and physical impairments;
    • is manifested before the individual attains age 22;
    • is likely to continue indefinitely;
    • results in substantial functional limitations in 3 or more of the following areas of major life activity:
      • Self-care.
      • Receptive and expressive language.
      • Learning.
      • Mobility.
      • Self-direction.
      • Capacity for independent living.
      • Economic self-sufficiency; and
      • Reflects the individual’s need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic services, individualized supports, or other forms of assistance that are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated.
  2. INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN.—An individual from birth to age 9, inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or specific congenital or acquired condition, may be considered to have a developmental disability without meeting 3 or more of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) of subparagraph (A) if the individual, without services and supports, has a high probability of meeting those criteria later in life.

Agency News