If you are providing or using child care
services in Kentucky during this
challenging time, you are not alone.
Support and resources are available
through the Division of Child Care and
our partners to help you.

Supports this year have ranged from
financial stipends through CARES Act
funding to issuance of social distancing
and safety guidelines to maintain healthy
classroom environments. Our team is
always available to answer questions
about these resources and to assist you.

CARES Act Funding Update

Kentucky has received a total of $67.74 million in
federal CARES Act Funding for state child care
providers. Previous stipends have included
sustainment stipends for all providers — based on
capacity; "Hero Bonuses" for center staff;
subsidies for essential employees and
operational stipends; and a cleaning/safety
supplies/personal protective equipment stipend.

The final stipend from the CARES Act funding is
currently being issued. All licensed and

certified child care providers are receiving $130
per child based on the capacity listed with the
Division of Regulated Child Care in March 2020.
Registered providers will receive $130 per child
based on current enrollment. Providers must
apply for funding by Dec. 1, 2020.
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Regulated Child Care:

Essential and Safe

Child care providers offer a supportive and
essential service to families and entire
communities. Current regulations and
policies are in place to stop the spread of
the coronavirus and to keep staff, children
and their families safe. Providers must
meet several requirements, but they also
have many resources for help through the
Division of Child Care and the Division of
Regulated Child Care.

Personal Protective Equipment
and Social Distancing Guidelines

PPE Guidelines

¢ Adults must wear face masks at all times.

e Children age 5 and under shall not wear
face masks due to risk of suffocation and
strangulation.

e Children age 6 and older must wear face
masks in accordance with statewide
masking mandate.

Social Distancing Guidelines Background Checks
* All programs must utilize a maximum group o Al childcare providers with a completed
size of 15 children and approved background check in the
 Adult-to-child ratios and group sizes will KARES system are ready to return to the
stay in place for children 24-months of age classroom and be safely left alone with
e Children should remain in the same group children.

of 15 children all day long

¢ Establish centralized location for drop-off
and pick-up of all children

¢ No field trips or schoolwide events

* No volunteers or student observers

« Discontinue use of group water fountains * Background checks are being processed
e Eliminate lost and found bins manually without the KARES system.

¢ The statewide fingerprint background
check system is not yet open. New
employees will have to complete name-
base background checks at this time.

Helpful Resources

Professional Development: DCCPDStaff@ky.gov  Kentucky All-STARS: KYallstars@ky.gov
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP): CCAPProviderPayments@ky.gov

National Background Check Program: CHFSDCCNBCP@ky.gov

Ky. Child Care Changes during COVID-19: chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dcbs/Pages/dcbscvres.aspx



