Harry J. Cowherd Award for Center Excellence the "Whatever It Takes" Award Winner History

The Harry J. Cowherd Award is the Divisions' most prestigious award honoring a center (or centers) which truly excelled in the crucial role of serving kids and families.

This "Award for Center Excellence" is named for the late Dr. Harry J. Cowherd, who was a former secretary of the Cabinet for Human Resources, and a staunch advocate for the Family Resource and Youth Services Centers' concept.

Dr. Cowherd was the Cabinet secretary during the inception of the Kentucky Education Reform Act of 1990 and his vision helped to create the FRYSC network. He worked with legislators, community organizations, and children's advocates to establish legislation linking his agency's programs with those of the Kentucky Department of Education.

The Harry J. Cowherd Award is given to a center which has contributed to Dr. Cowherd's tremendous legacy by demonstrating excellence above & beyond its expected center operations. The nominations contained dozens of amazing programs and detailed SOME of the truly outstanding work being done across the commonwealth by FRYSCs.

Year	Winner	District	Center	Category	Award		
1992	Norma Meeks	Boyd Co	Boyd County West FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1993	Clifford Irons	Jefferson Co.	Iroquois High School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1994							
1995		Boyd Co.	Boyd County East FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1996	Bill Bacon	Jefferson Co.	Rutherford FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1997	Clifford Irons	Jefferson Co.	Iroquois High School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1998	Diane Smith	Berea Ind.	Berea Independent FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1998	Julie Goodan	Somerset Ind.	Somerset FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1998	Shurella Hall	Pike Co.	Shelby Valley YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1998	Donna Drown	Ashland Indp.	South Ashland	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1999	Janice Boyd	Trigg Co.	ASK FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1999		Paducah Ind.	KERA-CEL YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
1999	Kimberly Powell	Shelby Co.	Simpsonville FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2000	Brenda Hale	Fairview Ind.	Fairveiw FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2000	Scott Higdon	Owensboro Ind.	Foust Elementary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2000		Jefferson Co.	Iroquois Middle School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2001							
2002	Catherine Newton	Boyd Co.	Boyd County Youth Services Center	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2003	Linda Pearman	LaRue Co.	LaRue County FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2004							
2005	Betty Pennington	Boone Co.	Collins Elementary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2006	Mike Flynn	Estill Co.	Estill County MS YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2007	Andrea Pike-Goff	Meade Co.	Keralot II FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2008	Paula Garrison	Adair Co.	The Family Place FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2008	Debbie Canavera	Meade Co.	Stuart Pepper MS YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2009	Betty Marshall	Bullitt Co.	Hand in Hand FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2009	Tonia Wiggins	Bullitt Co.	Bullitt Central Student & Family YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2009	Jill Blackman	Fayette Co.	Cassidy/Morton FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2010	Amy Carmichael	Madison Co.	Kirksville FRC	FRC	Whatever It Takes		
2011	Syvia Boyette	Grayson Co.	Caneyville FRC	FRC	Whatever It Takes		
2012	Sarah Evans	Todd Co.	Todd County Family Resource Center	FRC	Whatever It Takes		
2013	No Award Given						
2014	Marianna Romero	McCracken Co.	FRIENDS Family Resource Center	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2014	Renee Wooten	Boone Co.	R.A. Jones Youth Services Center	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2014	Meloday Simms	Kenton Co.	Kenton Elementary Familiy Resource Center	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2015	Geri Willis	Ashland Ind.	Ashland FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2016	Anna Houston	Danville Ind.	Families First FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2017	Amy Newton	Marion Co.	Glasscock/Calvary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2018	Lucas Vilorio	Daviess Co.	Sorgho FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2019	Christopher Dudley	Christian Co.	Eagels FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2020	Tiffany Runyon	Fayette Co.	Coventry Oak Elementary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2020	Amy Nonweiler	Daviess Co.	College View Middle YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2020	Tracy Pulley	Fulton Ind.	The Family Connection FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		
2021	Cecilia Adams	Harlan Ind.	Harlan Ind. FRYSC	FRYSC	Harry J. Cowherd		

Harry J. Cowherd Award for Center Excellence the "Whatever It Takes" Award Winner History

Year	Winner	District	Center	Category	Award
2021	Donta Tyler	Paducah Ind.	Morgan Elementary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd
2021	Amanda Heacock	Franklin Co.	Bondourant & Western Hills YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd
2022	Jennifer Madison	Warren Co.	Drakes Creek Middle School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd
2022	Kristen Mackey	Hopkins Co.	South Hopkins Middle School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd
2022	Carla Mack	Fayette Co.	Edythe J. Hayes Middle School YSC	YSC	Harry J. Cowherd
2022	Kristie Joyce	Jefferson Co.	Layne/Wilkerson FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd
2022	Molly Wesley	Newport Ind.	Newport Primary FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd
2023	Jill Payne	Franklin Co.	Harry J. Cowherd FRC	FRC	Harry J. Cowherd

In order to preserve our FRYSC history and to remember the amazing contributions of our coordinators, we have created this list. Please note that over the years some information has been lost. If you can help us with some of our missing information, or see an error on this list please email <u>Chris.Cross@KY.gov</u>