Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

What It Is

The ​Supports for Community Living (SCL) waiver provides Medicaid-paid services to adults and children with intellectual or developmental disabilities. These supports allow individuals to live at home rather than in an institutional setting.  


SCL offers a variety of services to support an individual's goals, choices, and priorities including:

  • Environmental Accessibility Adaptation and Vehicle Adaptation Services: Changes to a person's home or vehicle that ensure their health, safety, and welfare, increase independence, and allow them to continue to live in the community
  • Personal Assistance: Help with tasks a person cannot do on his or her own due to an intellectual or developmental disability including bathing, dressing, grooming, light housework, laundry, and meal planning and preparation
  • Positive Behavior Supports: Help to identify and reduce behaviors that interfere with activities of daily living, social interaction, or work
  • Residential Support Services: Offered in a variety of settings and supervision levels to allow individuals to live as independently as possible 

To view a full listing of the available supports and services, visit the Division of Developmental and Intellectual Disabilities (DDID) SCL website.


To be eligible for the SCL waiver, you must:

  • Have an intellectual or developmental disability
  • Meet the requirements for residence in an intermediate care facility for individuals with an intellectual disability (ICF/IID).
    • These are defined in Kentucky Administrative Regulation 907 KAR 1:022.
  • Meet the financial qualifications for Medicaid.


If you are interested in applying for SCL services or want to apply on someone's behalf, you can complete an application:

Currently, there is a waiting list for SCL services and supports.  Placement on the waiting list is determined by the date your completed application is received. Applicants will be served based on category of need and order of application as slots become available. After you receive a slot, Medicaid will determine if you need the level of care provided by an ICF/IID and are financially eligible for Medicaid coverage.

If you need more information about the SCL program, please email DMS or call (844) 784-5614. 

Participant-Directed Services

Participants in the SCL waiver program have three options for how they receive their services.

1. Traditional Services: A waiver participant can receive all services through traditional service provider agencies.

2. Participant-Directed Services (PDS): Participants who enroll in the PDS option can hire their own employees to provide their non-medical, non-residential services. PDS used to be known as the Consumer Directed Option (CDO).

3. Blended Services: Participants can receive some services through traditional service provider agencies while using the PDS option for their non-medical, non-residential services.

PDS services include Community Access, Environmental Accessibility Adaptation, Goods and Services, Personal Assistance, Respite, Shared Living, Supported Employment and Vehicle Adaptation. 

Choosing the PDS option gives waiver participants greater freedom of choice, flexibility, and more control over their supports or services. 

For more information about PDS for SCL, visit the DMS PDS page.