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Knowledge and understanding of who is required to report

Knowledge and understanding of what to report

Knowledge and understanding of how to make reports

Knowledge and understanding of penalties for failure to make a report

Learning Objectives

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
1.	



Public Law

To remain eligible for 
federal funding, states 
are required to have 
procedures for the 
reporting and 
investigation of abuse 
and neglect cases. 

3
Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act of 1974 (CAPTA), Public Law 108-36



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Kentucky Unified 
Juvenile Code 

• A child’s fundamental right to be safe and 
to be nurtured 
• A child’s basic right to be raised by 
his/her own parents, whenever possible.

4

KRS 620.010

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
KRS 620.010 describes children’s rights:
…Children have certain fundamental rights which must be protected and preserved. These include but are not limited to, the rights to adequate food, clothing and shelter; the right to be free from physical, sexual or emotional injury or exploitation; the right to develop physically, mentally, and emotionally to their potential; and the right to educational instruction and the right to a secure, stable family…




Kentucky Department for Public Health

Kentucky Mandatory Reporting Laws
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Diagnosis and Treatment 
of Minors 

(KRS 214.185)

Outpatient Mental Health 
Counseling of Minors 

(KRS 214.185 & 
KRS 202A.011)

New Legislation with 
Definitions

(KRS 600.020 & 
KRS 209.020)

Mandatory Reporting in 
Kentucky

(KRS 620.030, KRS 209.030 & 
KRS 209A.100)

Duty to Report Child 
Dependency, Neglect and 

Abuse
(KRS 620.030)

Duty to Report Adult 
Abuse and Neglect 

(KRS 209.030)

Domestic/Dating Violence 
and Abuse 

(KRS 209A.100)

Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)

Refusal to Report
(KRS 620.030 & 

KRS 209A.030)

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)




Kentucky Department for Public Health

Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors
Without the Consent of Parent or Guardian

Any physician may make a diagnostic exam for a minor, with the minor’s 
consent for:

Any physician may advise, prescribe or treat:

6

KRS 214.185

Pregnancy Substance use 
disorder

Venereal 
disease

Childbirth Contraception Pregnancy Substance use 
disorder

Venereal 
disease

KRS 214.185

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Add boxes (one slide)



• A qualified mental health professional may provide

• A physician may provide to 16 years of age or older
7

Upon the request of the 
child 16 or 17 years of age

AND

Unaccompanied youth Homeless or not in physical 
custody of a parent

KRS 214.185, KRS 202A.011 & 42USC11434A(6)

Outpatient Mental Health Counseling of Minors 
Without the Consent of Parent or Guardian



New Definition of Abused or Neglected Child
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A child whose health or welfare is harmed or threatened with harm when his or 
her parent, guardian or other person supervising the child fails

Repeatedly to provide essential 
parental care and protection for 
the child, considering the age of 

the child

To make sufficient progress toward 
identified goals as set forth in the 
court-approved case plan to allow 
for the safe return of the child to 

the parent that results in the child 
remaining in foster care for 15 
cumulative months out of 48 

months

To provide the child with basic 
needs necessary for the child’s 

well-being when financially able or 
offered financial means

Allows CHFS to get involved in cases sooner 
(KRS 600.020, amended April 2022)

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
April 2022, Kentucky amended KRS 600.020 to protect more children from abuse
July 2022, Kentucky amended KRS 508.100, which made criminal abuse against a person who is 12 years of age or less a Class B felony ​
An increase from the previous penalty (Class C felony)
New definition allows CHFS to get involved in cases sooner (KRS 600.020, amended April 2022)







Kentucky Department for Public Health

New Definition of Abused or Neglected Child (continued)

9

A child whose health or welfare is harmed or threatened with harm when his or 
her parent, guardian or other person supervising the child

Inflicts, allows to be 
inflicted, or creates or allows 

a risk of physical or 
emotional injury, sexual 

abuse, sexual exploitation or 
prostitution upon the child

Commits or allows 
female genital mutilation

Behaves in a way that 
makes them incapable of 
caring for the immediate 
and ongoing needs of the 
child (i.e., substance use 

disorder)

Abandons or exploits the 
child

A person 21 years of age or older commits or allows an act of sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, 
or prostitution upon a child less than 16 years of age

KRS 600.020

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
A person 21 years of age or older commits or allows an act of sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution upon a child less than 16 years of age








Kentucky Department for Public Health

Dependency 

“Dependent child" means any child, who 
is under improper care, custody, control, 
or guardianship that is not due to an 
intentional act of the parent, guardian, or 
person exercising custodial control or 
supervision of the child 

10

KRS 600.020



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Exploitation

Obtain or use another person’s resources, 
including but not limit to funds, assets 
and property by deception, intimidation 
or similar means

11

KRS 209.020



Duty to Report Child Abuse, 
Neglect and Dependence

Any person who knows or has reasonable cause 
to believe that a child (age 17 or younger) is 
dependent, neglected, abused, trafficked or a 
victim of female genital mutilation shall 
immediately cause an oral or written report to be 
made to

• Local law enforcement agency
• Kentucky State Police
• Cabinet for Health and Family Services 
• Commonwealth’s or County attorney

12KRS 620.030



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Signs of Child Abuse & Neglect
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Unexplained injuries 
(bruises, broken 

bone, burns, etc.)

Sexual behavior or 
knowledge that's 

inappropriate for the 
child's age

Inappropriate sexual 
behavior with other 

children

Pregnancy or a 
sexually transmitted 

infection

Loss of self-confidence Depression

Delayed or 
inappropriate 

emotional 
development

Decrease in school 
performance

Social withdrawal Poor growth Poor personal 
cleanliness

Hoarding or stealing 
food

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/child-abuse/symptoms-causes/syc-20370864

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)


https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/child-abuse/symptoms-causes/syc-20370864


Kentucky Department for Public Health

(Vulnerable) 
‘Adult’

Chapter 209 defines as persons 18 
or older who, because of mental or 
physical dysfunctions, are unable to 
manage resources, carry out daily 
living activity, or protect self from 
harm

14

KRS 209.020

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
"Adult" means a person eighteen (18) years of age or older who, because of mental or physical dysfunctioning, is unable to manage his or her own resources, carry out the activity of daily living, or protect himself or herself from neglect, exploitation, or a hazardous or abusive situation without assistance from others, and who may be in need of protective services;



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Duty to Report Adult Abuse, 
Neglect or Exploitation

• Any person that has reasonable cause to 
suspect that an adult has suffered abuse, 
neglect, or exploitation shall report, either 
oral or written, immediately to the 
• Cabinet of Health and Family Services

15
KRS 209.020 & KRS 209.030

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Any person, including a physician, law enforcement officer, nurse, social worker, cabinet personnel, coroner, medical examiner, alternate care facility employee, or caretaker



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Signs of Adult Abuse, Neglect & Exploitation
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Bruises, broken 
bones, cuts, etc.

Caregiver's refusal to 
allow visitor to see a 

vulnerable adult alone

Unexplained injury 
around the genital area 

or breasts

Extremely 
withdrawn, non-

communicative or 
non-responsive

Nervousness around 
certain people

Sudden changes in 
bank account or 
banking practice

Abrupt changes in a 
will or other 

financial documents

Unexplained 
disappearance of funds 
or valuable possessions

Dehydration, 
malnutrition, 

untreated bed sore, 
poor personal hygiene

Unattended or 
untreated health 

problems

Hazardous or unsafe 
living conditions

Unsanitary and 
unclean living 

conditions

https://www.safv.org/vulnerable-adult-abuse

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)


https://www.safv.org/vulnerable-adult-abuse


Kentucky Department for Public Health

Domestic and Dating 
Violence

Physical injury, stalking, sexual abuse, 
strangulation, or assault between family 
members or members of an unmarried 
couple

17

KRS 209A.100



Domestic/Dating 
Violence and Abuse

Reports
• When to report

• Upon the request of the victim, a professional shall 
report to a law enforcement officer 
(KRS 209A.100)

• An act of domestic violence and abuse
• An act of dating violence and abuse
• Must have victim's permission prior to contact 

of law enforcement

• When NOT to report
• Reasonable cause of domestic/dating violence
• The victim does not give permission 18

KRS 209A.100

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
KRS209A.130



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Signs of Dating Violence
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Using insults, 
intimidation, or 

humiliation

Extreme jealousy, 
insecurity or controlling 

behavior

Isolation from friends 
and family

Explosive temper or 
unusual moodiness

Invasion of privacy; 
showing up 

unannounced
Leaving unwanted 

items, gifts or flowers

Abusing alcohol or drugs
Threatening or causing 

physical violence; 
scratches, bruises, etc

Constantly monitoring 
social media activities or 

location

https://publichealth.gmu.edu/news/2022-02/10-warning-signs-teen-dating-violence

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)


https://publichealth.gmu.edu/news/2022-02/10-warning-signs-teen-dating-violence


Kentucky Department for Public Health

Signs of Domestic Violence
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Extreme jealousy and 
possessiveness Unpredictability Bad temper, verbal 

abuse

Extremely controlling 
behavior

Forces sex or disregard 
for their partner's 

unwillingness to have 
sex

Blaming victim for anything 
bad that happens

Sabotage or obstruction of 
victims ability to work or 

attend school
Controls finances Demeaning victim either 

privately or publicly

https://ncadv.org/signs-of-abuse

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)


https://ncadv.org/signs-of-abuse


Kentucky Department for Public Health

Professional Responsibility with Domestic/Dating 
Violence and Abuse Victims

If a professional has reasonable cause to believe that an individual with 
whom he or she has had professional interaction with has experienced 
domestic violence and abuse or dating violence and abuse, they must 
provide them with

• Educational materials related to domestic/dating violence and 
abuse

• Information about how he or she may access regional domestic 
violence programs

• Information about how to access protective orders

21

KRS209A.130

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
KRS209A.130



Kentucky Department for Public Health

Resources for Professional Compliance

Kentucky Coalition Against Domestic Violence website 
(www.kcadv.org)

• Educational materials related to domestic/dating violence and 
abuse

• Information about how a victim can access regional domestic 
violence programs

• Information about how to access protective orders

22

http://www.kcadv.org/


23https://domesticabuse.stanford.edu/screening/how.html

What stresses do you experience in your 
relationship?

Do you feel safe in your relationship?

What happens when you and your partner 
disagree? Have you ever felt afraid?

Have you been physically hurt or threatened by 
your partner?

Has your partner forced you to engage in sexual 
activities that you didn’t want?

Are your family and friends aware of what’s going 
on? Do you have a safe place to go in an emergency?

S: Stress/Safety A: Afraid/abuse

F: Family/friends E: Emergency

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
How to speak to DV victims:

When speaking with DV victims, it is important to do so in a private environment, without judgement
 The S.A.F.E. acronym can help guide these conversations 
The following questions should be asked sequentially


https://domesticabuse.stanford.edu/screening/how.html


Kentucky Department for Public Health

Adult Human Trafficking

Criminal activity where by one or more persons 
are subjected to engaging in: forced labor or services, 
commercial sexual activity through force, fraud, or coercion
• Suspected cases of trafficking should be reported to CHFS, 

intervening directly can put the victim at an increased risk
• Two Kentucky laws that pertain to the duties of the cabinet 

(CHFS) are KRS 620.040 and 620.029

24

KRS 529.120; KRS 620.030 

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Children = under 18 years of age
Human trafficking multidisciplinary team – KRS 620.040
Human trafficking resources for the child – KRS 620.029




Kentucky Department for Public Health

Child Human Trafficking

Does not have to involve force, fraud or coercion if the 
individual is under 18

• Children comprise 60% of all human trafficking victims
• Suspected cases of trafficking should be reported to 

CHFS, intervening directly can put the child at an 
increased risk

• The child should be treated as an abused child, and 
cannot be prosecuted for prostitution

25

KRS 529.120; KRS 620.030 

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Children = under 18 years of age
Human trafficking multidisciplinary team – KRS 620.040
Human trafficking resources for the child – KRS 620.029




Kentucky Department for Public Health

Signs of Human Trafficking
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Appears disconnected from 
family, friends, or community 

organizations

Appears timid, fearful, 
or submissive

Defers to companion or 
another person in 

their presence

Stops attending school Unstable living 
conditions

Signs of mental or 
physical abuse 

(disoriented, confused, 
bruises in various stages 

of healing)

(https://www.dhs.gov/blue-campaign/indicators-human-trafficking)

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors 
(KRS 214.185)
New Legislation with Definitions
 (KRS 600.020)
Definitions 
(KRS 209.020, KRS 529.010, 
KRS 403.720)
Mandatory Reporting of Abuse, Neglect and Traffick Victims
 (KRS 620.030 & KRS 209.030)
Refusal to Report 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 209A.030)
Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect, and Dependence 
(KRS 620.030)
Duty to Report Adult Abuse and Neglect 
(KRS 209.030)
Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
 (KRS 209A.100)
Human Trafficking 
(KRS 620.030 & KRS 529.120)


https://www.dhs.gov/blue-campaign/indicators-human-trafficking


Failure to Report
Child or adult: abuse, neglect, dependence, 
and trafficking

• Class B misdemeanor – first offense
• Class A misdemeanor – second offense
• Class D felony – each subsequent offense

Domestic and dating violence and abuse
• Class B misdemeanor

*Attorney-client and clergy-penitent privilege are the only 
exceptions for child abuse, neglect and dependence

27
KRS 620.030; KRS 209A.030

Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Effective April 2, 2020; KRS 620.030

532.090
Class B misdemeanor – not to exceed 90 days in jail
Class A misdemeanor – not to exceed 12 months in jail
Class D Felony -- 
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Child Abuse, Neglect, 
and Dependency

Adult Abuse, Neglect, 
or Exploitation

Human 
Trafficking

Domestic or Dating 
Violence and Abuse

Who is 
required to 

report

Anyone who has reason to believe it is 
occurring, including healthcare professionals
**Exception: attorney client or clergy-
penitent relationship

Anyone who has reason to believe it is 
occurring, including healthcare 
professionals

Anyone who has reason to 
believe it is occurring, 
including healthcare 
professionals

Professional, upon the request
of the victim

What to 
report

• Names and addresses of the child and 
their parent(s) or guardian(s)

• Child's age
• Nature and extent of the alleged 

dependency, neglect or abuse, including 
any previous charges to this child or his or 
her siblings

• Name and address of the person allegedly 
responsible for the abuse or neglect

• Any other information that may be helpful

• Name and address of the adult, or 
anyone responsible for their care

• Adult's age
• Nature and extent of the abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation, including any 
evidence of previous abuse, neglect or 
exploitation

• Identity of the perpetrator and 
complainant, if possible

• Any other information that may be 
helpful

Contents of report determined 
after discussion with the victim

How to 
report

Oral or written report to a local law 
enforcement agency, the Department of KY 
State Police, CHFS, the Commonwealth's 
attorney or the county attorney
Adult/Child Protective Services Reporting:
1-877-KYSAFE1 (or 1-877-597-2331)

Oral or written report to CHFS

Adult/Child Protective Services 
Reporting:
1-877-KYSAFE1 (or 1-877-597-2331)

Oral or written report to a 
local law enforcement 
agency, the Department of 
KY State Police, CHFS, the 
Commonwealth's attorney 
or the county attorney

Report to a law enforcement 
officer, with permission of the 
victim

Law KRS 620.030 KRS 209.030 KRS 620.030 KRS 209A.100

Our duty is to report; CHFS duty is to investigate

Mandatory Reporting in Kentucky

https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx
https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx


Kentucky Department for Public Health

Reporting

• Kentucky Child/Adult Protective Services Reporting System:
• 1-877-597-2331 (1-877-KYSAFE1)
• 1-800-752-6200 (Business hours)
• National Domestic Violence Hotline:
• 1-800-799-7233 (1-800-799-SAFE)
• Kentucky Domestic Violence Association
• 1-502-209-5382
• The National Human Trafficking Hotline:
• 1-888-373-7888

29

https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/Home.aspx
https://www.thehotline.org/
https://kcadv.org/
https://humantraffickinghotline.org/state/kentucky


Kentucky Department for Public Health

References
• https://www.dhs.gov/blue-campaign/indicators-human-trafficking

• https://education.ky.gov/school/sdfs/Pages/Human-Trafficking.aspx

• https://domesticabuse.stanford.edu/screening/how.html

• “From Report to Court”, CHFS, DCBS PowerPoint as presented by Child Protection Branch

• “Recognizing and Reporting Maltreatment” Appalachian Kentucky Healthcare Access Network

• Kentucky Revised Statutes Database https://apps.legislature.ky.gov

• https://ncadv.org/signs-of-abuse

• https://publichealth.gmu.edu/news/2022-02/10-warning-signs-teen-dating-violence

• https://www.safv.org/vulnerable-adult-abuse

• https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/child-abuse/symptoms-causes/syc-20370864
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Presenter Notes
Presentation Notes
Add legislative website

https://www.dhs.gov/blue-campaign/indicators-human-trafficking
https://education.ky.gov/school/sdfs/Pages/Human-Trafficking.aspx
https://domesticabuse.stanford.edu/screening/how.html
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/
https://ncadv.org/signs-of-abuse
https://publichealth.gmu.edu/news/2022-02/10-warning-signs-teen-dating-violence
https://www.safv.org/vulnerable-adult-abuse
https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/child-abuse/symptoms-causes/syc-20370864


Contact

Kentucky Family Planning Program

FamilyPlanning@ky.gov


	Kentucky Laws Regarding Mandatory Reporting and Human Trafficking
	Slide Number 2
	Public Law
	Kentucky Unified Juvenile Code 
	Kentucky Mandatory Reporting Laws
	Diagnosis and Treatment of Minors�Without the Consent of Parent or Guardian 
	Slide Number 7
	New Definition of Abused or Neglected Child
	New Definition of Abused or Neglected Child (continued)
	Dependency 
	Exploitation
	Duty to Report Child Abuse, Neglect and Dependence
	Signs of Child Abuse & Neglect
	(Vulnerable) ‘Adult’
	Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation
	Signs of Adult Abuse, Neglect & Exploitation
	Domestic and Dating Violence
	Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse
	Signs of Dating Violence
	Signs of Domestic Violence
	Professional Responsibility with Domestic/Dating Violence and Abuse Victims
	Resources for Professional Compliance
	Slide Number 23
	Adult Human Trafficking
	Child Human Trafficking
	Signs of Human Trafficking
	Failure to Report
	Slide Number 28
	Reporting
	References
	Contact��Kentucky Family Planning Program�

