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Objectives

* Define child sexual abuse

* Discuss the indications for making a mandatory child sexual abuse report

* Describe how to report suspected abuse

e Discuss how community partners respond to a child’s report of sexual abuse
* Review the purpose of the medical exam when a child reports sexual abuse
* Explain why many children will have normal anogenital examinations

* Explain the rationale for STI testing and evidence collection

* Discuss resources available to aid in the evaluation of children and adolescents who
report experiencing sexual abuse/assault

* Understand current Kentucky law on sexual assault evidence collection and examination

. Apgly critical thinking strategies when caring for adolescent and pediatric sexual abuse in
public health clinics
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Obvious case example: Mandatory report of

“child abuse’

* Mom receives a call from her 9 year old daughter’s father. He
confessed that he has been touching their daughter
Inappropriately.

* Mom asks her daughter, and her daughter discloses that she has
experienced penile vaginal penetration on more than one
occasion by her father.

* She brings the child to the clinic.
* The last incident was a little more than one week ago.

* Mom says that child never told her about the abuse previously and
she saw no signs to indicate that the child was abused.




Case Discussion

* |s this sexual abuse?

 What if father masturbated in front of 9 year old daughter? Is that
sexual abuse?



Sexual abuse involves a wide spectrum of offenses,
including both contact and noncontact

* Exposing perpetrator genitalia to the victim
* Masturbation and other sexual acts in front of the victim
* Digital creation of child sexual abuse material (CSAM)

e Contact including rape, sodomy, or other physical touching for
purposes of sexual gratification

* Sexual trafficking
* Sexual exploitation



Who reports child maltreatment?

*In KY, every adult has a duty

* For 2019, individuals who came into contact with alleged child
maltreatment victims as a result of their jobs submitted 68.6 percent of
reports alleging child abuse and neglect.

e Education personnel (21.0%)

 Legal and law enforcement personnel (19.1%)
* Medical personnel (11.0%)



Key Acronyms

LE = Law Enforcement

CHFS = Cabinet for Health and Family Services
CPS = Child Protective Services

APS = Adult Protective Services

RCC = Rape Crisis Center

KRS = Kentucky Revised Statutes

KAR = Kentucky Administrative Regulations
SAFE = Sexual Assault Forensic Exam

SANE = Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner

]=( OF SEXUALASSAULT
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Key Understandings

1. “Child abuse” as defined under mandatory reporting laws requires attention to the
child’s relationship to the abuser and/or ages of the child and the abuser, the
setting where the abuse took place, and the type of abuse inflicted.

2. There is no general duty to report sexual violence.
3. KY law does not single out a specific age as the “age of consent”.

4. Under KY criminal code, sexual intercourse and deviate sexual intercourse includes
penetration by body parts or foreign objects, however slight.

5. There is no general duty to report domestic violence. Report when a child is in the
crossfire.

6. Mandatory reporting laws require a coordinated response and investigation
timelines for joint cabinet and law enforcement investigation.

/7. Mandatory reports do not always lead to criminal charges.
8. No contact orders are an available protection for victims of child sexual abuse.



600.020 Definitions

(1) “Abused or neglected child” means a child whose health or welfare is

harmed or threatened with harm when (a) His or her parent, guardian, person in
a position of authority or special trust, as defined in KRS 532.045, or other
person exercising custodial control or supervision of the child:

1. Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the child physical or emotional injury as defined in this section by other than accidental means;
2. Creates or allows to be created a risk of physical or emotional injury as defined in this section to the child by other than accidental means;

3. Engages in a pattern of conduct that renders the parent incapable of caring for the immediate and ongoing needs of the child, including but not
limited to parental incapacity due to a substance use disorder as defined in KRS 222.005;

4. Continuously or repeatedly fails or refuses to provide essential parental care and protection for the child, considering the age of the child;
5. Commits or allows to be committed an act of sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution upon the child;

6. Creates or allows to be created a risk that an act of sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution will be committed upon the child;

7. Abandons or exploits the child;

8. Does not provide the child with adequate care, supervision, food, clothing, shelter, and education or medical care necessary for the child's well-
being when financially able to do so or offered financial or other means to do so. A parent or other person exercising custodial control or
supervision of the child legitimately practicing the person's religious beliefs shall not be considered a negligent parent solely because of failure to
provide specified medical treatment for a child for that reason alone. This exception shall not preclude a court from ordering necessary medical
services for a child;

9. Fails to make sufficient progress toward identified goals as set forth in the court-approved case plan to allow for the safe return of the child to the
parent that results in the child remaining committed to the cabinet and remaining in foster care for fifteen (15) cumulative months out of forty-eight
(48) months; or

10. Commits or allows female genital mutilation as defined in KRS 508.125 to be committed; or

(b) A person twenty-one (21) years of age or older commits or allows to be
committed an act of sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution upon a
child less than sixteen (16) years of age;



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000010&cite=KYSTS222.005&originatingDoc=NCFFF72402D4611EFBD4AB74478B67A47&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=158ef7987cfd4f22bbc90edadbdcfaf5&contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000010&cite=KYSTS508.125&originatingDoc=NCFFF72402D4611EFBD4AB74478B67A47&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=158ef7987cfd4f22bbc90edadbdcfaf5&contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)

1. Key Understanding: “Child abuse” as defined under
mandatory reporting laws requires attention to the
child’s relationship to the abuser and/or ages of the
child and the abuser, the setting where the abuse

took place, and the type of abuse inflicted.
» CHILD ABUSE = KRS 600.020 AND KRS 620.030

* KY law mandates that you (anyone — not just professionals) must make a report if
you have reasonable cause to believe that:

* Achild is being neglected or abused as defined in statute
* And that the abuse is by a parent, caretaker, etc. (long list! Refer to statute)
* Orthe caretaker created the risk

hen in doubt... report! You are immune from liability if done so in
good faith. Failure to reportis a crime.

Ultimately, CHFS intake decides!


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55113

RELATIONSHIP

Duty to report child abuse of any minor
who is ® dependent ® neglected ¢ abused
by a parent, guardian, personin a
position of authority or special trust, or
other person exercising custodial

control or supervision of the child
KRS 600.020 defining “abused or neglected child”



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111

KRS 532.045(1)(a)&(b)

(a)

"Position of authority” means but is not limited to the position

occupied by a biological parent, adoptive parent, stepparent, foster
parent, relative, household member, adult youth leader, recreational
staff, or volunteer who is an adult, adult athletic manager, adult
coach, teacher, classified school employee, certified school
employee, counselor, staff, or volunteer for either a residential
treatment facility or a detention facility as defined in KRS 520.010(4),
staff or volunteer with a youth services organization, religious leader,
health-care provider, or employer;

"Position of special trust” means a position occupied by a personin a

position of authority who by reason of that position is able to exercise
undue influence over the minor; a


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=43497

POSITION OF AUTHORITY

v'PARENT (biological, adoptive,
step, foster)

v RELATIVE

v'HOUSEHOLD MEMBER

v’ ADULT YOUTH LEADER
v'RECREATIONAL STAFF

v’ ADULT VOLUNTEER

v’ ADULT ATHLETIC MANAGER
v’ ADULT COACH

v TEACHER OR SCHOOL STAFF OR
VOLUNTEER

v COUNSELOR

v RESIDENTIAL TREATMENT
FACILITY STAFF OR VOLUNTEER

v'DETENTION FACILITION FACILITY
STAFF OR VOLUNTEER

v'YOUTH SERVICES STAFF OR
VOLUNTEER

v'RELIGIOUS LEADER
v'HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
v EMPLOYER



E of abuser and victim *only in narrow
circumstance and only when the harm is
sexual in nature*®

* Duty to report child abuse of a minor under 16 who is a victim of e
sexual abuse ® sexual exploitation ® prostitution

by any person 21 or older (KRS 600.020 defining “abused or
neglected child”)
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https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111

It’s not just the actual commission of “child

abuse and neglect” | atSH1016M0)A0,

...inflicts, commits, creates a risk of, or allows

Remember: Reasonable cause to believe...

e.g. a teenager raped by another teenager, and parents
allow that person to regularly spend the night at the home

Mandatory report to CHFS because of the parents’ lack of
protective capacity, not because of the act of rape itself
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https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=52104

SETTING

* Assess the time/place/manner where the abuser had the
opportunity to offend.

* Where did the abuse take place?
* Why/how did the abuser gain access to the child?
* Was this child isolated with the adult?



IN{ el viN:10 5 dependent ® neglected ¢ abused =
KRS 600.020 defining “abused or neglected child”

* “Child abuse” as defined under mandatory reporting laws includes physical
and sexual harm, trafficking, maltreatment, and neglect
* Physical harm - e.g. pushing a child down the stairs
* Sexual harm - e.g. masturbating in their presence
* Sexual harm —e.g. forcing siblings to engage in sex acts
* Maltreatment —e.g. driving drunk with a child
* Neglect-e.g. leaving a child home alone overnight
* Neglect-e.g. undernourished child
* Neglect-i.e. deprivation of a basic need

* Trafficking — labor or sexual

e Female Genital Mutilation


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111

Sally is 15 and was raped by a stranger who
broke into her home. Her parents bring her
into the clinic. They are very upset and
show no signhs of abusive or neglectful

behavior. Is this a mandatory report to
CHFS?



2. Key Understanding: There is ho general
duty to report sexual violence.

* Sexual violence against a child might not be a mandatory report if:
* The perpetratoris another child
* The perpetratorisless than 21 years-old
* The perpetrator is a stranger and the caretaker is without fault/did not cause or create
the risk of harm
* Usually, child-on-child violence outside the home is nhot a mandatory report
* Age difference and relationship matters
e Caretaker’s knowledge/neglect matters

e Sexual violence against a child under 16 by an adult is usually but not
always a mandatory report
* Perp 21 or older: always

* Young kiddos: any adult they are alone with is probably in a position of
authority/supervisory role

* When a child is being trafficked or has suffered female genital mutilation, you
ALWAYS have a duty to report
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Reporting a crime of sexual violence is optional.
Reporting child abuse is not.

* Sally and her parents can decide whether to report the
stranger to police.

* Your duty strictly relates to whether this falls within the legal
definition of “child abuse” for purposes of CHFS intervention.



Trafficking and FMG must be reported without regard

to the abuser’s relationship to the child

* Duty to report child abuse of any minor who is ® trafficked ¢ a victim of female genital
mutilation
by any perpetrator (KRS 620.030)

* Trafficking (KRS 529.010): A person is subjected to...
* Forced labor
« Commercial sexual activity

* Force, fraud, coercion not necessary when the trafficked personis a minor

* Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) (KRS 508.125): partial or total removal of the external
female genitalia or any procedure harmful to the female genitalia

* Anytime you have reasonable cause to believe FGM or trafficking happened OR the child is at
risk of FGM or trafficking, regardless of who the perpetrator is, you must make a report

* Note: Only CHILD (not in adult abuse statute)

22


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55113
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50287
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=49892

Sally is 15 and was raped by a stranger who
broke into her home while her parents were
smoking meth.

hy is this a mandatory report to CHFS? What

details to include in this report?

Your duty is triggered by the parent’s lack of
protective capacity/creating exposure to risk of
harm, not the stranger’s crime.



Questions to consider when you encounter a child
who has been harmed (to determine whether the
abuse is a mandatory report to CHFS)

* What is the relationship between the child and the adult?
* What is the developmental and cognitive capacity of the child?

* Does this child rely on this person for their basic needs? (long term
or temporarily)

* Does this child want to please this person?

* [sthe adult 21 or older? (child less than 16)

* Was this person supervising the child?

* Does the child trust this adult?

* How young is the child?

* What degree of isolation?

* Where was the caretaker during the incident?

* |s this child being trafficked or a victim of female genital mutilation?



Report made. Intake evaluates for whether the

facts meet cabinet criteria (reference statute).
Situations Where DCBS Does Not Investigate

* Concerns, but no specific allegations are reported

* The reported offender was not in a caretaking role
* Human trafficking or female genital mutilation are exceptions

* These reports are forwarded to local law enforcement, Kentucky State Police, as
well as the commonwealth's attorney or county attorney

* The reported abuse occurred in another state.

* |f reported victim resides in KY they may be linked to services that could mitigate
potential safety threats.

* Report is forwarded to the child protective services agency of competent
jurisdiction.



Where to report child abuse

* Report child abuse to ® Local law enforcement agency ® Kentucky
State Police * CHFS ¢ Commonwealth’s or County attorney

* Cabinet hotline #1-877-KYSAFE1 or Website
https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx

e Online form.

* Note: often long wait-times when you call
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https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx

Amy’s mom finds out that Amy and her “boyfriend”
are having sex. Amy is 13 and her boyfriend is 16.
Amy’s mom brings her to the clinic for an exam. She
IS irate and wants the boy arrested.

Do you have a duty to report??



3. Key Understanding: Kentucky does not single
out a specific age as the “age of consent”.

Myth: the “age of consent” in KY is 16.

Reality: Children under 16 can have consensual sex under the law.
KRS Chapter 510 sets out a variety of age brackets.

Child abuse report — age of under 16 and over 21



|s this rape under KY criminal law?

* Mom receives a call from her 9 year old daughter’s father. He
confessed that he has been touching their daughter
Inappropriately.

* Mom asks her daughter, and her daughter discloses that she has
experienced digital vaginal penetration on more than one
occasion by her father.

* She brings the child to the clinic
* The last incident was a little more than one week ago.

* Mom says that child never told her about the abuse previously and
she saw no signs to indicate that the child was abused.



4. Key Understanding: Under KY criminal code, sexual
intercourse and deviate sexual intercourse includes
penetration by body parts or foreign objects, however
slight.

“Sexual intercourse” means sexual intercourse in its ordinary sense

and includes penetration of the sex organs of one person by any
body part or a foreign object manipulated by another person.

"Deviate sexual intercourse” means any act of sexual gratification
Involving the sex organs of one person and the mouth or anus of
another; or penetration of the anus of one person by any body part
or a foreign object manipulated by another person.




*Amy’s mom finds out that Amy and her “boyfriend” are
having sex.

Amy is 25 and suffers from severe cognitive delays. Her
boyfriend is their adult neighbor.

*Amy’s mom brings her to the clinic for an exam. She is irate
and wants the boy arrested.

Do you have a duty to report?

= Assess for whether Amy is a vulnerable adult: Is she is
someone who cannot take care of their own basic needs
due to physical or cognitive disability, is abused or
neglected?



KRS 209.020 AND KRS 209.030
Abuse of a vulnherable adult (adult abuse)

* "Adult" means a person eighteen (18) years of age or older who,
because of mental or physical dysfunctioning, is unable to
manage his or her own resources, carry out the activity of daily
living, or protect himself or herself from neglect, exploitation, or a
hazardous or abusive situation without assistance from others,
and who may be in need of protective services;


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=8181
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=8182

LA degola g Tatail KRS 209.020

* "Deception” means but is not limited to: (a) Creating or reinforcing a false
impression, including a false impression as to law, value, intention, or other
state of mind; (b) Preventing another from acquiring information that would
affect his or her judgment of a transaction; or (c) Failing to correct a false
impression that the deceiver previously created or reinforced, or that the
deceiver knows to be influencing another to whom the person stands in a
fiduciary or confidential relationship;

* "Abuse” means the infliction of injury, sexual abuse, unreasonable
confinement, intimidation, or punishment that results in physical pain or
injury, mcludlng mental injury;

* "Exploitation"” means obtaining or using another person's resources,
mcludlng but not limited to funds, assets, or property, by deception,
intimidation, or similar means, with the intent to deprive the person of those
resources;



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=8181

How to make a report of abuse of a vulnerable adult

* Include details about why the adult is considered a vulnerable adult
* Details about their mental or physical capacity
* How or why they cannot care or provide for themselves

Include what you know about the abuse —remember, it must meet the

statutory definition of “vulnerable adult” to satisfy cabinet criteria for
APS intervention
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Where to report vulnerable adult abuse

* Report abuse of vulnerable adult to e CHFS
* Cabinet hotline #1-877-KYSAFE1 or 1-877-597-2331

* Website https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx
* Online form or call. Note: long wait times

* Intake screens reports for whether the case meets criteria of adult
abuse.

35


https://prd.webapps.chfs.ky.gov/reportabuse/home.aspx

Do you have a duty to report domestic
violence?

* Mom receives a call from her 9 year old daughter’s father. He
confessed that he thinks he has been touching their daughter
Inappropriately. Mom asks her daughter, and her daughter
discloses that she has experienced penile vaginal penetration on
more than one occasion by her father.

* Mother also tells you that the father is physically and sexually
abusive toward her.



5. Key Understanding: There is no general
duty to report domestic violence. Report
when a child is in the crossfire.

* Assess for whether this is child abuse under mandatory
reporting:
* To what extent has the child been exposed to the abuse?
* |s the abuse creating a risk maltreatment or neglect?
* Does the child appear afraid of his/her parent?
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Sally is 3 told her mom that dad put something in her
butt. You file a mandatory report. LE and the cabinet do
a joint investigation. The cabinet “substantiates” the
case.

Does that mean the police will file criminal charges?
115 filed, joint investigation. Does not necessarily mean
charges will be filed.

DNA court adjudicates for neglect or abuse
(substantiate/unsubstantiate).



6. Key Understanding: Mandatory reporting laws require a
coordinated response and specific timelines for a joint
cabinet and law enforcement investigation.

* Reportis made
e Screened in or out

* Screened in —timeframe for a response

* 4 hour response: Sexual abuse allegations, and alleged perpetrator is unknown
or may have access to child within the next 4 hours

* 4 hour response: Human trafficking or female genital mutilation is suspected,
and alleged perpetrator may have access within the next 4 hours

* Accelerate response time to 4 hours: Forensic evidence may be compromised,
law enforcement is requesting immediate assistance, there is reason to believe
the family may flee

* Referral to the CAC by CHFS or police > MDT



Child abuse multidisciplinary team (MDT)

* Prosecutors

* Police

* CHFS

* CAC

« RCC

e System advocates
* Healthcare workers
* School staff



CHFS Child Abuse Investigations:
Dependency, Neglect, and Abuse (DNA)

* CHFS is concerned with child welfare as it relates to their daily
care and wellbeing
* CHFS investigates reports of child abuse

* CHFS may operate in partnership with law enforcement, but their
investigations are independent and their goals are different

* Likewise, APS is concerned with whether a vulnerable adultis
being taken advantage of or abused



Kentucky General Mandatory Reporting

WHAT? WHO must WHEN? TO WHOM?

report?
Harm to Everyone. If harm/abuse/neglect is caused | Must report to at
Children: or allowed by: least one of the
Abuse, (All healthcare * Parent or other caregiver following:
Dependency, | providers are * person n position of authority | e Cabinet — Child
Neglect mandated to report). or special trust Protective

* person 21 y.o. or older when a Services,
Human child <16 y.o. for sexual e Local law
Trafficking abuse/exploitation enforcement,
* any person for human o Kentucky State
Female trafficking (labor and sex Police,
Genital trafficking) County or
Mutilation » any person for female genital | Commonwealth
mutilation Attorney

Vulnerable | Everyone. If any person harms/neglects an Must report to:
Adult Abuse individual who 1s 18 v.o. or older | Cabinet — Adult
or Neglect (All healthcare who has a mental or physical Protective Services

providers are disability that limits ability to

mandated to report). | care and/or protect themselves.

Ky. Rev. Stat. §600.020 and §620
Ky. Rev. Stat. §532.045
Ky. Rev. Stat. §508.125




7. Key Understanding: Mandatory reports do
not always lead to criminal charges.

* Duty to report is motivated by the Cabinet’s interest in protecting
children — it is not for the purpose of holding criminals to account

* Law enforcement may also investigate and criminal charges may
be brought; this is a separate proceeding and charging decisions
vary case by case.



CRIMINAL LAW AND CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

Contact sex offenses—> KRS Sexual exploitation = KRS
Chapter 510 Chapter 531
Rape, sodomy, sexual abuse Possession/distribution/manufac

turing of child sexual abuse
material (CSAM)



CRIMINAL LAW AND CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

Class A Misdemeanor 90 days-12 months
Class B Misdemeanor Max 90 days

Class D Felony 1-5years

Class C Felony 5-10 years

Class B Felony 10-20 years

Class A Felony 20-50 yrs or life

Capital offense, punishment may be fixed as death, imprisonment for life without the benefit of probation
or parole for 25 years, life imprisonment or imprisonment for not less than 20 years

Most child abuse and child sexual abuse crimes are felony
offenses. Some are misdemeanors. And in circumstances where
the child suffers extreme injury and/or the child is very young, the
case may qualify for capital punishment.



KRS Ch. 510: Rape, Sodomy, Sexual Assault

e Contact sex offenses

ncest and some other offenses against minors are also found in
KRS Ch. 530

Refer to KRS 510.010 for definitions of this chapter



KRS Ch. 531: Sexual Exploitation

* This includes offenses like possession/distribution/manufacturing
of child sexual abuse material (CSAM)



KRS Ch. 508: Physical abuse

* “Criminal Abuse” is the felony crime of child physical abuse in KY
* “Assault” is the crime of other forms of physical abuse in KY

* KRS Ch. 508 is also where you will find crimes like stalking,
strangulation, and female genital mutilation



Legal protections for victims

* Cabinet intervention and court orders (best interest of the child)
* Criminal charges and no contact orders (only throughout the life
of the criminal case)

* Civil protective orders (individuals can petition for a no contact
order independent of a cabinet or criminal case)



)4

8. Key Understanding: No contactorders XX
are an available protection for victims of D¢
child sexual abuse.

 EPO/DVO

* Family members (spouses, ex-spouses, parents, children, grandparents,
grandchildren, adult siblings)

* Members of an unmarried couple (people who have lived together as a
couple or people who have a child together)

* TIPO/IPO

* Partners of a dating relationship.
* Survivors of SV and stalking

* Where to file? Varies by jurisdiction. Call your RCC.



7. Abandons or exploits the child; 8. Does not provide
C h ° ld b KRS 2 the child with adequate care, supervision, food,
I a USQ 600.0 0 clothing, shelter, and education or medical care
necessary for the child's well-being when financially
able to do so or offered financial or other means to do

so. A parent or other person exercising custodial
control or supervision of the child legitimately

As used in KRS Chapters 600 to 645, unless the context
otherwise requires: (1) "Abused or neglected child" means a
child whose health or welfare is harmed or threatened with
harm when: (a) His or her parent, guardian, personin a

position of authority or special trust, as defined in KRS pract.icing the per§on's religious beliefs shall not b?
532.045, or other person exercising custodial control or considered a negligent parent solely because of failure
supervision of the child: 1. Inflicts or allows to be inflicted to provide specified medical treatment for a child for

upon the child physical or emotionalinjury as defined inthis  that reason alone. This exception shall not preclude a
section by other than accidental means; 2. Creates or allows court from ordering necessary medical services for a
to be created a risk of physical or emotionalinjury as defined  ¢hjid; 9. Fails to make sufficient progress toward

in this section to the child by other than accidental means; 3. identified goals as set forth in the court-approved case
Engages in a pattern of conduct that renders the parent olan to allow for the safe return of the child to the

incapable of caring for the immediate and ongoing needs of h lts in the child . tted
the child, including but not limited to parental incapacity due parent that results in the child remaining committed to

to a substance use disorder as defined in KRS 222.005; 4. the cabinet and remainingin foster care for fifteen (15)
Continuously or repeatedly fails or refuses to provide essential cumulative months out of forty-eight (48) months; or
parental care and protection for the child, considering the age 10. Commits or allows female genital mutilation as

of the child; 5. Commits or allows to be committed an actof  defined in KRS 508.125 to be committed; or (b) A
sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution upon the person twenty-one (21) years of age or older commits
child; 6. Creates or allows to be created a risk that an act of or allows to be committed an act of sexual abuse,
sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or prostitution will be

sexual exploitation, or prostitution upon a child less
committed upon the child; P P P

than sixteen (16) years of age;


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55111

KRS 510.010 Definitions

(1) “Deviate sexual intercourse” means any act of sexual gratification involving the sex organs of one person and the mouth or anus of another; or penetration of the anus of one person by any body part or a
foreign object manipulated by another person. “Deviate sexual intercourse” does not include penetration of the anus by any body part or a foreign object in the course of the performance of generally
recognized health-care practices;

(2) “Forcible compulsion” means physical force or threat of physical force, express or implied, which places a person in fear of immediate death, physical injury to self or another person, fear of the immediate
kidnap of self or another person, or fear of any offense under this chapter. Physical resistance on the part of the victim shall not be necessary to meet this definition;

(3) “Mental illness” means a diagnostic term that covers many clinical categories, typically including behavioral or psychological symptoms, or both, along with impairment of personal and social function, and
specifically defined and clinically interpreted through reference to criteria contained in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Third Edition) and any subsequent revision thereto, of the
American Psychiatric Association;

(4) “Individual with an intellectual disability” means a person with significantly subaverage general intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior and manifested during the
developmental period, as defined in KRS Chapter 202B;

(5) “Mentally incapacitated” means that a person is rendered temporarily incapable of appraising or controlling his or her conduct as a result of the influence of an intoxicating substance administered to him
or her without his or her consent or as a result of any other act committed upon him or her without his or her consent;

(6) “Physically helpless” means that a person is unconscious or for any other reason is physically unable to communicate unwillingness to an act. “Physically helpless” also includes a person who has been
rendered unconscious or for any other reason is physically unable to communicate an unwillingness to an act as a result of the influence of a controlled substance or legend drug;

(7) “Sexual contact” means the touching of a person's intimate parts or the touching of the clothing or other material intended to cover the immediate area of a person's intimate parts, if that touching can be
construed by a reasonable person as being done:

(a) For the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification of either party;
(b) For a sexual purpose; or

(c) In a sexual manner for the purpose of:

1. Exacting revenge or retribution;

2. Humiliating or degrading; or

3. Punishment;

(8) “Sexual intercourse” means sexual intercourse in its ordinary sense and includes penetration of the sex organs of one person by any body part or a foreign object manipulated by another person. Sexual
intercourse occurs upon any penetration, however slight; emission is not required. “Sexual intercourse” does not include penetration of the sex organ by any body part or a foreign object in the course of the
performance of generally recognized health-care practices;

(9) “Foreign object” means anything used in commission of a sexual act other than the person of the actor;

(10) “Registrant” has the same meaning as in KRS 17.500; and

(11) “Adult intermediary” means a person who is age eighteen (18) years or older, who communicates with another for the purpose of procuring or promoting the use of a minor in violation of KRS 510.155.


https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000010&cite=KYSTS17.500&originatingDoc=N60A25B40E50A11EDA6ABA4963462EBDC&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=2629a67ee6c14234b772b60c643e8eb1&contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)
https://1.next.westlaw.com/Link/Document/FullText?findType=L&pubNum=1000010&cite=KYSTS510.155&originatingDoc=N60A25B40E50A11EDA6ABA4963462EBDC&refType=LQ&originationContext=document&transitionType=DocumentItem&ppcid=2629a67ee6c14234b772b60c643e8eb1&contextData=(sc.UserEnteredCitation)

KRS 531.010 Definitions

(1) “Child sex doll” means an anatomically correct or anatomically precise doll, mannequin, or robot that may consist of an entire body, pelvis, or any other
body part, with features of, or with features that resemble, those of a minor and intended for use in sexual acts;

%2) “Computer” means electronic, magnetic, optical, electrochemical, or other high-speed data processing device performing logical, arithmetic, or storage
unctions, including but not limited to personal computers, laptops, computer software, computer servers, processors, Coprocessors, memory dewces, storage
devices, and inputand output devices;

(3) “Computer-generated image” means any visual depiction, including any photograph, film, video, or picture, where the depiction has been created, adapted,
or modified by a computer to appear to be an identifiable person;

(4) “Distribute” means to transfer possession of, whether with or without consideration;
(5) “Identifiable person” means a person who is recognizable by the person's face, likeness, or other distinguishing characteristic;

)

)
(6) “Matter” means any:
(a) Book, magazine, newspaper, or other printed or written material;
)

(b) Picture, drawing, photograph, motion picture, live image transmitted over the internet or other electronic network, other pictorial representation, or
computer-generated image;

c) Statue, child sex doll, or other figure; or

(c)

(d) Recording, transcription, or mechanical, chemical, or electrical reproduction, or any other articles, equipment, machines, or materials;

(7) “Obscene” means:

(a) To the average person, applying contemporary community standards, the predominant appeal of the matter, taken as a whole, is to prurient interest in

sexual conduct;
b) The matter depicts or describes the sexual conduct in a patently offensive way; and

(
(c) The matter, taken as a whole, lacks serious literary, artistic, political, or scientific value;
(8) “Private erotic matter” means an obscene visual image, including a photograph, film, video recording, computer-generated image, or digital reproduction, of

an identifiable person, depigtin% sexual conduct or the exposure of uncovered human genitals, buttocks, or nipple of the female breast. A person may be
identifiable from the image itself or from information distributed in connection with the visual image; and

(9.% “Sexual conduct” means acts of masturbation, homosexuality, lesbianism, bestiality, sexual intercourse, or deviate sexual intercourse; or physical contact
with the genitals, flagellation, or excretion for the purpose of sexual stimulation or grafitication



Thank you!
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