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Key Acronyms

LE = Law Enforcement

CHFS = Cabinet for Health and Family Services
CPS = Child Protective Services

APS = Adult Protective Services

RCC = Rape Crisis Center

KRS = Kentucky Revised Statutes

KAR = Kentucky Administrative Regulations
SAFE = Sexual Assault Forensic Exam

SANE = Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner
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Key Understandings

Every ED in KY must provide a SAFE when
requested by a victim, whether or not a SANE is
available.

Victim consent determines whether a SAFE is
executed and whether a police report is made.

SAFE is an optional tool that may support a sexual
assault investigation.

ED is required to contact RCC prior to a SAFE.
Minor victims can consent to a SAFE on their own.
All victims are entitled to treatment for HIV, STI,

pregnancy (not abortion), & emergency
contraception

10.

Police cannot force a victim to cooperate with a sexual
assault investigation, nor undergo a SAFE.

. When you have a child victim, you are required to follow

the “Kentucky Medical Protocol for Child Sexual
Assault/Abuse Evaluation”.

If the assault was within 96 hours, you shall utilize the
SAFE.

Examination facilities are prohibited from releasing a kit
without victim authorization. The facility must store
unreported kits for up to one year and follow victim
instruction on whether to destroy the kit.



Mom leaves 7-year-old child with babysitter

Mom brings child to clinic because when she returned home, child
reports sexual abuse



Case: STl as indicator of SA

* A 15 year old girl sought treatment for painful genital ulcers on the labia
majora.

* She was discharged with a diagnosis of “aphthous ulcers” and given a
prescription for Acyclovir.

* Mom went to the pharmacy to fill the prescription, and recognized that
Acyclovir is treatment for Herpes. She asked the teen how she got herpes,
and the teen disclosed that she was having sexual intercourse with an adult
man in his 50’s.

* Mom called the police.

* Teen reported at the time of CAC visit that there was oral vaginal contact
two weeks prior to the herpes diagnosis.

* The girl subsequently had another outbreak and PCR of the lesions was
positive for HSV 1.



Sexual assault evidence SAECK tracking portal
collection kit https://ksponline.ky.gov/safekit/
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In 2012, the KSP Laboratory staff began a statewide program to locate sexual assault evidence collection kits that had
been sitting on the shelves of police storage facilities, having never been submitted to the lab for testing. Some of these

kits were from recent assaults and others from attacks years ago

B KSPCentral Lab The KSP Laboratory worked with law enforcement
agencies to have the kits submitted to the
laboratory where they were labeled as "Sexual
Assault Initiative Cases” and grant money was

sought to have the cases worked.



15-year-old Sally just ended a ‘relationship” with
her 20-year-old basketball coach. Their most recent
sexual encounter was about 12 hours ago. She
comes to the clinic and requests a SAFE. She does
not want her parents to know. She does not want

to call police. What do you do?



v'File a mandatory report = this will trigger police/cabinet
investigation and a referral to CAC

v’ Explain that you are a mandatory reporter and that police are
inevitably going to be involved. Does she want to call them with you?

v'Call RCC
v'Secure transportation to local ED for SAFE



KY Rape Crisis Centers



https://www.kasap.org/help-for-survivors/

1. Key Understanding: Every ED in KY must provide
a SAFE when requested by a victim, whether or not

a SANE is available.

216B.400 (2) Hospital ED shall have a medical
professional available to do a SAFE at all times

* Every KY hospital which offers emergency services shall provide that a
physician, a sexual assault nurse examiner,... or another qualified
medical professional, ... is available on call twenty-four (24) hours
each day for the examinations of persons seeking treatment as
victims of sexual offenses as defined by KRS 510... 530... 531.310




SANE-ready Hospitals

* https://www.chfs.ky.eov/agencies/os/oig/dhc/Documents/SANERead
vHospitalDirectory.pdf



https://www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/os/oig/dhc/Documents/SANEReadyHospitalDirectory.pdf
https://www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/os/oig/dhc/Documents/SANEReadyHospitalDirectory.pdf

12-year-old Sally is having sex with a 17-
year-old, she believes itis a consensual
relationship. Her parents bring her into
the clinic demanding that police be
called and an exam performed. What do
you advise?



2. Key Understanding: Victim consent determines
whether a SAFE is executed and whether a police
report is made.

KRS 216B.400 = Requires victim consent prior to the execution of a
sexual assault forensic exam + Victim decides whether to engage
police/file a report + Minor victims may consent to exams and their
consent is not subject to the disaffirmance of parents. Parental
consent is not required.

* 502 KAR 12:010 = Documented consent is required prior to the
execution of a sexual assault forensic exam + Victims may withdraw at
anytime during the collection of forensic samples + Victim decides
whether to report to police + Requires victim’s authorization for
release of information to police.



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/Statutes/statute.aspx?id=54917
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/502/012/010/

3. Key Understanding: SAFE is an optiona/tool that
may support a sexual assault investigation.
What is a SAFE kit? What is its purpose?

* 216B.400(4) The physician shall...
with the consent of the victim...
examine such person for the
purposes of
-providing basic medical care
relating to the incident and
-gathering samples that may be
used as physical evidence.

* Forensic tool distributed by KSP.

 Never release back to KSP without
victim consent.

* Includes tracking number.
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4. Key Understanding: ED is required to contact RCC
prior to a SAFE.

502 KAR 12:010 Section 2. Preforensic-Medical Examination Procedure. If a person
seeking treatment as a victim arrives at an examination facility, the appropriate staff
at the facility prior to conducting the forensic-medical examination SHALL COMPLY
with the following requirements:

(%1) IIRIeporting to the Rape Crisis Center Advocate. The examination facility staff
shall:

 (a) Contact the rape crisis center to inform the on call advocate that a victim has
arrived at the examination facility for an examination; and

* (b) Upon arrival of the advocate, ask if the victim wishes to have a rape crisis
center advocate present for the examination or otherwise available for

consultation.
“ KENTUCKY ASSOCIATION
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14-year-old Sally comes to the clinic reporting
that she was raped by her 18-year-old boyfriend.
Mom insists that Sally get a SAFE but Sally does
not want one. Sally secretly asks if she can get STI
treatment and emergency contraception?

 Who decides if Sally gets a SAFE?
* Can you provide the treatment?



5. Key Understanding: Minor victims can ){_ )4
consent to a SAFE on their own.

216B.400(7) Minor consent

* (7) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a minor may consent
to examination under this section. This consent is not subject to
disaffirmance because of minority, and consent of the parents or
guardians of the minor is not required for the examination.



6. Key Understanding: All victims are entitled to treatment for
HIV, STI, pregnancy (not abortion), & emergency contraception.
*regardless of whether the patient is a minor

*regardless of whether parents are involved in the conversation
*regardless of whether the victim wants a SAFE.

502 KAR 12:010(5)(f)

“ED staff shall... inform the victim of the need for a physical examination due to the
risk of sexually transmitted infections, including HIV, pregnancy, injury, or other
medical problems whether or not the victim chooses to have the evidence
collected”



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/502/012/010/

KRS 214.185 Physician treatment of minors
without parent consent.

Any physician, upon consultation by a minor as a patient, with the consent of such minor may make a
diagnostic examination for

venereal disease pregnancy substance use disorder

and may advise, prescribe for, and treat such minor regarding
venereal disease contraception, pregnancy, or childbirth substance use disorder

all without the consent of or notification to the parent.



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50969

KRS 214.185 Physician treatment of minors
without parent consent.

* The professional may inform the parent or legal guardian of the minor
patient of any treatment given or needed where, in the judgment of
the professional, informing the parent or guardian would benefit
the health of the minor patient.

* Treatment under this section does not include inducing of an abortion
or performance of a sterilization operation.


https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50969

216B.400(5-6) Victims have a statutory right to
be informed of services available for treatment Xax

e (5) Each victim shall be informed of available services for treatment
of:

 sexually transmitted infections *includes whether the patient needs HIV
prophylaxis,

* Pregnancy *limitations regarding abortion referral and counseling services

» other medical and psychiatric problems

* (6) Each victim shall be informed of available crisis intervention or
other mental health services provided by regional rape crisis centers
providing services to victims of sexual assault

You may prescribe emergency contraception =2 KRS 214.185
* Because emergency contraception will not harm an existing pregnancy



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50969

KRS 620.050(14)
Medical evaluations in child abuse cases

* In child abuse cases — under KRS 620 medical professionals may
collect photos, x-rays, and perform “other medical diagnostic
procedures” without the consent of the parent or guardian
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https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=55117

12-year-old Sally is having sex with a 17-
year-old, she believes itis a consensual
relationship. Her parents bring her into
the clinic demanding that police be
called and an exam performed. What do
you advise?



12-year-old Sally’s parents are very angry.
They have called police and police
appear with a search warrant for a SAFE.

Sally is very opposed. What do you
advise?



7. Key Understanding: Police cannot force a
victim to cooperate with a sexual assault
investigation, nor undergo a SAFE.

KRS 216B law states: the execution of a SAFE exam is
lawful upon victim consent... or at the request of
officers or prosecutors, AND with victim consent

Reporting is optional. Sending a kit to the lab is
optional. 502 KAR 12:010

Search warrants cannot serve as proxy for victim
consent



8. Key Understanding: When you have a child
victim, you are required to follow the “Kentucky
Medical Protocol for Child Sexual
Assault/Abuse Evaluation”

(2) If the reporting patient is a child, examination facility staff shall refer
to the “Kentucky Medical Protocol for Child Sexual Assault/Abuse
Evaluation” developed by the Sexual Assault Response Team Advisory
Committee for guidance in conducting the forensic evidence exam.
502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 12:010

https://cackentucky.org/medical-resources/



https://cackentucky.org/medical-resources/

Statewide protocol:

"A child should never be forced, restrained, or sedated for the sole purpose of evidence
collection." For unconscious pubertal patients, evidence collection MUST be deferred until
the patient is medically stable and able to provide consent. ® For unconscious prepubertal
patients, a legal custodian can Brovide informed consent. ¢ In the event the caregiver is
unable, unwilling, or not available to provide consent for a child who cannot otherwise
consent themselves for the exam, consult the facility legal department (Refer to KRS
620.050). ¢ If a child does not consent or assent to the collection of evidence, an evidence
collection kit should not be obtained. A child should not be physically restrained for the
sole purpose of evidence collection. When injury, infection, or other medical condition is
suspected, sedation or anxiolytic may be considered. If there are questions regarding
whether collection should be attempted, consultation with an expert is recommended. e If
the patient’s capacity to consent/assent changes (e.g. change in mental status, level of
consciousness, or ability to give ongoing consen;c}, stop evidence collection and address
medical concerns. Reassess proceeding with evidence collection when appropriate. o If
parent consents to the exam but the patient does not assent for evidence collection, then
explore with the patient the reason for not proceeding and attem,ot to reconcile the issue.
If reconciliation is unsuccessful, do not proceed with evidence collection.



Consent to SAFE: Younger children and
vulnerable or disabled adults

Key question = Are they developmentally capable of consenting to the
exam?

* Consider the developmental and cognitive capacity of the child or
vulnerable adult. *obviously a 3 year old can’t consent

* A child, who is developmentally capable of consenting, has authority
to consent.

* A disabled or vulnerable adult, who is developmentally capable of
consenting, has authority to consent.



Unconscious patients — questions to consider

* Is this person going to regain consciousness soon?

* What do the next 96 hours look like?

* Would this person ordinarily have the mental capacity to consent?

* Is there a reliable, nonoffending caretaker or family member present?
* What is their position?

* What are internal hospital policies governing decision-making by a
guardian?



9. Key Understanding: if the
assault was within 96 hours,
you shall utilize the SAFE

(3) If the sexual assault occurred within ninety-six
(96) hours prior to the forensic-medical
examination, a Kentucky State Police Sexual
Assault Evidence Collection Kit shall be used.

502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 12:010 (section 3(3))




If outside 96 hours...

(1) A physical examination may be
conducted for basic treatment and to
collect samples in all cases of sexual
assault, regardless of the length of time
that may have elapsed between the time
of the assault and the examination itself.

502 Ky. Admin. Regs. 12:010 (section 3(1))




15-year-old Sally reports that she was raped by her 16-
year-old boyfriend, who her mom allows to live with
them. She wants a SAFE but her mom does not.

What do you advise?
Is there a duty to report?
What if he did not live in the home?



15-year-old Sally

v'Call your local RCC

v'File a mandatory report = this will trigger police/cabinet
investigation and a referral to CAC

v'Refer to local ED for SAFE. Know your local facilities that have SANEs

v'Discuss options for transportation to the appropriate facility. Police
transportation if police are called.

v'File a mandatory report. This will trigger a CAC referral.
v SANE-ready hospitals



Why is this a report?

1. perpetrator lives in the home
2. her mom may be “creating a risk” and neglect



15-year-old Sally

Sally goes to the local ED for a SAFE. Sally says she wants to hold off on
pursuing criminal charges. She wants time to decide whether to move
forward with police investigation. What happens to the kit?



10. Key Understanding: Examination facilities are prohibited from releasing a kit
without victim authorization. The facility must store unreported kits for up to one
year and follow victim instruction on whether to destroy the kit.

If the victim chooses to report and wants the kit released to LE, obtain
and document the patient’s informed consent to release information
(including samples) to LE.

KIT TRACKING #: 502 KAR 12:010(3) requires entry into SAFE kit tracking
portal
KIT TRACKING DATABASE KRS 16.132 https://ksponline.ky.gov/safekit/

Contact LE within 24 hours and turn over to LE


https://ksponline.ky.gov/safekit/

Other ways to help support victims of sexual

assault — get your SANE credential

SANE training programs approved by KBN

https://kbn.ky.gov/education/Pages/Approved-SANE-Training-
Programs.aspx



https://kbn.ky.gov/education/Pages/Approved-SANE-Training-Programs.aspx
https://kbn.ky.gov/education/Pages/Approved-SANE-Training-Programs.aspx

For your reference...

* KRS 216B.400 (SV response: hospital duties & victim rights)

* 502 KAR 12:010 (SAFE protocol, police involvement, victim rights)

* 902 KAR 20:012 (add’l mandates re access to SAFE)

201 KAR 20:411 (SANE credentialing and standards)

* KRS 495.270 to 49.490 (Crime Victims Compensation)

e 802 KAR 3:020 (Sexual Assault Exam Program, CVC reimbursement)

* KRS 216B.140 (Medical/diagnostic services mandate for minor victims of SV)

* KRS 216B.400(7) (Minor victim rights to SAFE without parent consent)

* KRS 216B.400(5) (Victim rights to STI treatment and care)

* KRS 214.185(Minor victim rights to STl and pregnancy care without parent consent)
e 502 KAR 12:010(5)(f) (Victim rights to STI, HIV, pregnancy information and care)

e 2024 National Protocol for Sexual Assault Medical Forensic Examinations - Adult-Adolescent
 KY SANE-P Medical Protocol



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/Statutes/statute.aspx?id=54917
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/502/012/010/
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/902/020/012/
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/201/020/411/
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/chapter.aspx?id=45450
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/802/003/020/
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=9225
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/Statutes/statute.aspx?id=54917
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/Statutes/statute.aspx?id=54917
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50969
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/502/012/010/
https://kasapinc-my.sharepoint.com/personal/jcassady_kasap_org/Documents/Desktop/MY%20POWERPOINTS%20-%20Onedrive/SANE%20TRAINING/2024%20National%20Protocol%20for%20Sexual%20Assault%20Medical%20Forensic%20Examinations%20-%20Adult-Adolescent.pdf
https://cackentucky.org/medical-resources/
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