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Kentucky has also been titled, according to the US Department for Health and 
Human Services, as #1 for child abuse and neglect.  





LEGAL/ILLEGAL V/S MANDATORY REPORTING

Imagine someone breaking in your house, the 
act itself is illegal but you are not required to 
report it. 





WHAT ARE THE LAWS IN KENTUCKY?

Under 16 years old

Person <16 with a person 21 years old 
or older, must be reported. 

____________________________________

Report to DCBS.

Report to the county attorney or the 
commonwealth attorney.

Report to police. 

16-<18 Years Old

When the victim is a16/17 year old 
and the other person is a person of 
authority (teacher/principal, minister, 
coach etc),  mandatory reporting is 
required. 

Vulnerable Adults

Report any abuse/neglect to Adult 
Protective Services. 



SEXUAL ASSAULT REPORTING

16-<18 Years Old
Can decide if sexual assault 
is reported to police. 

Do not automatically 
contact police for anyone 
16 years old and older, they 
may not want to report to 
police. 

Under 16 Years Old
Person <16, person 21 
years old or older, must 
be reported. 
______________________
Report to DCBS.

Report to the county  
attorney or the 
commonwealth 
attorney.

Report to police. 

Vulnerable Adults

Report to Adult 
Protective Services.



KNOW THE PEOPLE TO CONTACT

• Talk with your local police departments, get to know them.
• Post numbers in your clinic for trafficking victims. 
• Become familiar with your local rape crisis center.
• Meet and become familiar with local DCBS if that is an option. 

Knowledge of your resources will help you answer questions in the future. 



HOW CAN WE HELP IN CLINIC

• Immediately work to build trust and confidence with your client. 
• Follow and Review the H&P with the client
• Slow down when you ask the questions about sexual behavior
• Take time with your clients-question about number of partners, notice who is 

with them and how they behave. 



SOURCES & RESOURCES

• https://chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dcbs/dpp/cpb/Pages/default.aspx

• https://humantraffickinghotline.org/

• https://ag.ky.gov/protecting-children/human-trafficking

• https://www.acf.hhs.gov/cb/research-data-technology/statistics-
research/child-maltreatment

• https://silverleafky.org/



• Kentucky law says there is a lack of consent if a person engages in a sexual 
act with another person by forcible compulsion or with a person who is 
incapable of consent because he or she is physically helpless, mentally 
defective or mentally incapacitated. “Mentally defective” means that a 
person suffers from a mental disease or defect that renders the person: 
incapable of understanding the nature and consequences of a sexual act; 
or unaware a sexual act is occurring. “Mentally incapacitated” means that 
a person is temporarily incapable of appreciating or controlling the person’s 
conduct as a result of the influence of a controlled or intoxicating substance: 
administered to the person without the person’s consent; or that renders the 
person unaware a sexual act is occurring. “Physically helpless” means that a 
person is: unconscious; physically unable to communicate a lack of consent; 
or rendered unaware that a sexual act is occurring. 
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