Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Who We Are

Kentucky’s public guardianship program is administered by the Division of Guardianship in the Cabinet for Health and Family Services. Individuals are served by offices in all regions of the state.

For referrals to the Division of Guardianship, please email the DAIL guardianship programor call (502) 382-8843.

Programs &

In Kentucky, guardianship is a legal relationship between a court-appointed adult who assumes the role of guardian for a ward. A ward is a person who has been declared legally disabled by the court and is no longer able to care for his or her personal and/or financial needs.

A guardian may be a friend or family member willing to care for the disabled individual. If no one is available to care for the disabled person, the court appoints the Cabinet for Health and Family Services  state guardian. The duties of the state guardian include:

Full Guardianship/Full Conservator – The Cabinet is responsible for the personal and financial needs of the ward. A court has found the ward fully disabled and all personal and financial rights are removed except the right to vote. The judge decides whether or not a ward retains the right to vote.

Personal Guardian – A court finds the ward fully disabled in his/her personal affairs and appoints a personal guardian who is responsible for only personal affairs of the ward.

Conservator – A court finds the ward fully disabled in managing his/her financial affairs and appoints a conservator who is responsible for financial or fiduciary affairs of the ward.

Limited Guardian - A limited guardian may be appointed if the disabled person is declared partially disabled and can manage some personal needs but may need assistance with others. In this case, the court will also decide which civil rights the person can retain and which are given to the guardian. These may include the right to vote, the right to drive a car, the right to make medical decisions and the right to determine where to live.

Limited Conservator - A limited conservator may be appointed if the disabled person only needs help with managing  some financial or fiduciary affairs. In this case, the court will also decide which civil rights the person can retain and which are given to the conservator. These may include the right to sell property and the right to sign legal documents such as checks, marriage licenses or wills.

Tonia Wells, Director
Phone: (502) 330-6861

Jessica Wayne, Assistant Director
Phone: (502) 229-5109
Fax: (502) 564-5703

Eastern  Branch
Vacant, Branch Manager
Phone: (606) 776-4939

Northern Bluegrass Section
Jennifer Sexton-Messer, Supervisor
8311 US Hwy 42, Florence, KY 41042
Phone: (859) 371-7182
Fax: (859) 282-0861

Counties Covered:  Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Fleming, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Kenton, Lewis, Mason, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson

Northeastern Section
Vacant, Supervisor
1539 Greenup Ave, Ste. 201
Ashland KY 41101
Phone: (606) 920-2050, ext. 3
Fax: (606) 920-2051

Counties Covered: Bath, Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Greenup, Lawrence, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Rowan

Eastern Mountain Section
Crystal Deaton, Supervisor
311 N. Arnold Ave, Ste. 401
Prestonsburg, KY 41653
Phone: (606) 889-1736 ext. 4
Fax: (606) 889-1782

Counties Covered: Breathitt, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Wolfe

Northern Branch
Vacant, Branch Manager

Metro Section II
Paul Webster, Supervisor
908 West Broadway, Ste. 4W
Louisville, KY 40203
Phone: (502) 595-4052, ext. 5326
Fax: (502) 595-4397

Counties Covered: Hardin, Jefferson, Nelson, Marion, Washington

Metro  Section I
Joshua Clark, Supervisor
908 West Broadway, Ste. 4W
Louisville, KY 40203
Phone: (502) 595-4052, ext. 5327
Fax: (502) 595-4397

Counties Covered: Bullitt, Henry, Jefferson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble

Central Branch
Melissa Stephens, Branch Manager
Phone: (502) 229-8215

Southern Bluegrass Section
Charlie Darrington, Supervisor
455 Park Place
3rd Floor, Room 437
Lexington, KY 40511
Phone: (859) 245-5748
Fax: (859) 271-3237

Counties Covered: Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Gerrard, Jessamine, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Nicholas, Powell, Scott, Woodford

Cumberland Section
Allison McQueary, Supervisor
67 Eagle Creek Drive Ste. 102
Somerset, KY 42503
Phone: (606) 677-4210
Fax: (606) 677-4231

Counties Covered: Adair, Bell, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, McCreary, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley

Western Branch
Heather Holland, Branch Manager
Phone: (270) 839-5125

Western Section
Vacant, Supervisor
PO Box.  2200
Hopkinsville, KY 42241
2400 Russellville Rd., 42240
Phone: (270) 889-6025, ext. 387
Fax: (270) 886-6675

Counties Covered: Ballard, Calloway, Cardwell, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, Muhlenberg, Todd, Trigg

Midwestern Section
Katina Hayden, Supervisor
3649 Wathens Crossing
Owensboro, KY 42301
Phone: (270) 683-5387, ext. 4
Fax: (270) 683-4750

Counties Covered: Breckinridge, Daviess, Grayson, Hancock, Henderson, McLean, Meade, Ohio, Union, Webster

Southwestern Section
Shaun Rich, Supervisor
356 Suwannee Train Street
Bowling Green, KY 42102
Phone: (270) 746-7438
Fax: (270) 746-7449

Counties Covered: Allen, Barren, Butler, Edmonson, Hart, Larue, Logan, Metcalf, Monroe, Simpson, Warren

Agency News