Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Who We Are

​If you have a disability or are elderly, you may qualify for a 1915(c) Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Medicaid waiver. These waivers provide the support you need to live as independently as possible. The Department for Medicaid Services (DMS) offers six waiver programs:

Programs &


You may qualify for a 1915(c) HCBS waiver if: 


If you are interested in 1915(c) waiver services, you first must be determined to be financially eligible for Medicaid. You can apply for Medicaid online using kynect, by calling the Department for Community Based Services (DCBS) at (855) 306-8959 or in-person at a DCBS office. Documents that are helpful to have when applying are listed in the Medicaid Waiver Services Fact Sheet

Once you are ready to apply for 1915(c) HCBS waiver services, you can complete your application online using kynect or in-person at an Aging and Disability Resource Center or a Community Mental Health Center.  

More Information

Please view our Who To Call: Quick Reference Guide for a list of common waiver-related questions or concerns and who to contact for help. 

Recent Updates from the 1915(c) HCBS Waiver Programs

HCB and MIIW Public Comment: 1915(c) HCBS waiver applications expire every five years. To continue providing HCB and MIIW services, DMS must renew the waivers with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). DMS made updates to the HCB and MIIW renewal waivers and held a public comment period between Oct. 5 and Nov. 6, 2020. The official DMS response to MIIW public comments and the official DMS response to HCB public comments now are available. DMS is in the process of submitting MIIW and HCB to CMS for approval. 

Incident Reporting: All 1915(c) HCBS waiver providers and case managers now must use the Medicaid Waiver Management Application (MWMA) to report incidents involving waiver participants. The following resources are available to assist providers and case managers with electronic incident reporting. 

Electronic Visit Verification (EVV): DMS is implementing EVV for certain 1915(c) HCBS waiver services. Visit the DMS EVV website for more information.   

Contact Information