Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

What It Is

​​The Hart-Supported Living program is for Kentuckians with disabilities to request funds for supports so they can live in their homes and communities and avoid institutionalization.

The law, KRS 210.770 defines it as: The Hart-Supported Living Program means grants that provide a broad category of highly flexible, individualized services that, when combined with natural unpaid or other eligible paid supports, provide the necessary assistance to do the following:

  • Provide the support necessary to enable a person who is disabled to live in a home of the person's choice which is typical of those living arrangements in which persons without disabilities reside;
  • Encourage the individual's integrated participation in the community with persons who are members of the general citizenry;
  • Promote the individual's rights and autonomy;
  • Enhance the individual's skills and competences in living in the community; and
  • Enable the individual's acceptance in the community by promoting home ownership or leasing arrangements in the name of the individual or the individual's family or guardian.

Is Hart-Supported Living a Program for You?

Any Kentuckian with a disability as defined by the Americans with Disability Act is eligible to apply for funding. Specifically, the statute for Hart-Supported Living, KRS 210.770, defines what is meant by person with a disability.

You (and/or your family, friends and the people who support you) should consider applying for Hart-Supported Living funds if you meet the definition and you want to:

  • Live in a home of your choice that is typical of the homes where people without disabilities live;
  • Participate in your community with all members of the community;
  • Decide for yourself what supports and services you need to live in the community; and
  • Arrange for and manage your own supports.

Hart-Supported Living funds do not support:

  • Segregated living models such as any housing situation which physically or socially isolates people with disabilities from general citizens of the community;
  • Segregated programs or activities which physically or socially isolate people with disabilities from general citizens of the community;
  • Congregate living models such as any housing situation which groups individuals with disabilities in an enclave within an integrated setting;
  • Any model where the individual, as an adult, does not have maximum control of the home environment commensurate with the individual's disabilities; and
  • Any single living unit where more than three people with disabilities live.

How Do I Find Out More About Supported Living?

Hart-Supported Living Description
This document contains a description of the Hart-Supported Living Program, as well as information about the following topics:

  • Supports that can be requested
  • Eligibility for Hart-Supported Living
  • Completing your application
  • Submitting your application
  • Application review and funding process

Regional Hart-Supported Living Coordinators

Region 1
Rachel Phelan
PO Box 548 
Bardwell, KY 42023
Phone: (502) 229-9110
Counties: Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Todd, Trigg, Union and Webster.

Region 2
Makalla Morrison
PO Box 2010
Bowling Green, KY 42102
Phone: (502) 229-5211
Counties: Adair, Allen, Barren, Breckinridge, Butler, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Logan, Meade, Metcalf, Monroe, Nelson, Ohio, Simpson, Taylor and Warren.

Region 3
Natalie Rawlings
PO Box 206037
Louisville, KY 40220
Phone: (502) 229-6500
Counties: Bullitt, Jefferson, and Spencer.

Region 4
Denise Poynter-Shook
PO Box 33
Richmond, KY 40476
Phone: (502) 229-2102
Counties: Anderson, Bourbon, Clark, Fayette, Harrison, Jessamine, Madison, Marion, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott, Washington, and Woodford.

Region 5
Tonya Adams
PO Box 699
Science Hill, KY 42553
Phone: (502) 229-9079
Counties: Bell, Boyle, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Estill, Garrard, Harlan, Jackson, Knox, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, McCreary, Owsley, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Wayne and Whitley.

Region 6
Caryn Turvey
PO Box 498
Ironton, OH 45638
Phone: (502) 229-6863
Counties: Bath, Boyd, Bracken, Breathitt, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Morgan, Nicholas, Perry, Pike, Robertson, Rowan and Wolfe.

Region 7
Jennifer Rush
PO Box 797
Lancaster, KY 40444
Phone: (502) 229-5015
Counties:  Boone, Campbell, Carroll, Franklin, Gallatin, Grant, Henry, Kenton, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Shelby and Trimble. 

Hart-Supported Living Council Meeting

April 19, 2019
10 a.m. - noon
CHFS, DPH Conference Suite B, 275 E. Main St.
Frankfort, Ky.

April 19 Agenda.docx