The Office of Vital Statistics has on file marriage and divorce certificates from June 1958 to the present. Certified marriage or divorce certificates can be ordered and the required fee paid by phone, mail, Internet or by visiting the office. To inquire about marriage or divorce certificates prior to June 1958, please call the county clerk in the county where the marriage license was issued or that granted the divorce decree.
Please allow up to 30 working days for processing of all type of certificates ordered through the mail.
Note: The Kentucky Office of Vital Statistics cannot by law, provide free information from records, perform a genealogical search or verify whether a certificate is on file without a completed application form and the required fee attached. The Kentucky Vital Statistics office will, upon receiving the application and fee, perform a search of the records and if a certificate is on file, it will be mailed to you. The required fee covers the cost of the record search and no refunds are issued if a certificate is not found. The office does not issue non-certified copies or photocopies of certificates.
- Full name of First Party
- Full name of Second Party
- The month, day and year of the marriage or divorce
- The county where the marriage license or divorce was issued
Additional information needed
- Name and address where the certificate is to be mailed
- Phone number where you can be reached during the day from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Eastern time
- The number of copies being ordered
Enclose a check or money order payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer to cover the cost of each certificate ordered and mail to:
Office of Vital Statistics
275 E. Main St. 1E-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
Marriage and Divorce Certificates Purchases
$6 for each certified copy. For credit card and UPS orders click here or call toll free (800) 241-8322. To fax orders call toll free (866) 283-7477. Please go to VitalChek to obtain fax applications under Order Methods.
Getting Married in Kentucky: What Do You Need to Know?
Marriage licenses are issued in the county clerk's office in each county. If you have any questions, please contact the county clerk's office in your area. Both bride and groom must appear together to get a license. Licenses are valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and the license fee is non-refundable. The license must be used within the state of Kentucky.
You must be 18 to be married in Kentucky without parental consent. Applicants 16 and 17 years old must have parental consent and the license must be issued in the county of residence of the underage applicant. If both applicants are under age, the license must be issued in the bride's county of residence. No one younger than 16 may be issued a license unless the bride is pregnant and a district court judge must issue a court order directing the clerk to issue the license.
No waiting period or blood test is required prior to issuance of a marriage license. The bride and groom complete an application, providing information needed from both including:
- Name and address
- Date of birth and age
- Place of birth (if in Kentucky, give county; if another state, give state)
- Father's name
- Mother's first and maiden name
- Current status of bride and groom (single, divorced, annulled, widowed)
- Number of previous marriages of bride and groom
- Occupations of bride and groom
- Race of bride and groom
- Whether bride and groom are related (first and second cousins are not permitted to marry in Kentucky)
- Date of marriage