Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

​The information on this page is specific to Medicaid beneficiaries and providers. For more information about COVID-19, refer to the state COVID-19 website.

During the COVID-19 State of Emergency, individuals who need medical insurance coverage for doctors, pharmacy or hospital services should complete the Healthcare Coverage Application. This coverage is temporary and ends two months after the application month unless you submit an application for regular Medicaid. For application help, contact an application assister through the Application Assister Web Page or call the Kentucky Healthcare Customer Service line toll free (855) 459-6328. For a listing of participating medical providers please see the Kentucky Medicaid Provider Directory. If you have questions or need more information about a participating provider, you can call toll free (800) 635-2570.

Provider General Information

Provider Letter #A-107: COVID-19 Presumptive Eligibility
Provider Letter A-105: COVID-19 Guidance for all Medicaid providers
KY Draft 1135 Flexibilities Approval Letter 
Families First Coronavirus Response Act - increased FMAP FAQ
NADSP Onboardng DSPs during COVID-19 Crisis
Social Security Administration: Significant changes to operations and policies 

CMS COVID-19 News

New HHS Announces Enhanced Provider Portal, Relief Fund Payments for Safety Net Hospitals, Medicaid and CHIP Providers

CMS has issued answers to frequently asked questions regarding patient presentation to the emergency department, Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act applicability across facility types, qualified medical professionals, medical screening exams, patient transfer and stabilization, telehealth and other topics.

Long-term care facilities news and updates

New CMS Issues Nursing Homes Best Practices Toolkit to Combat COVID-19 
Updated cases and response activities
Requesting PPE FactSheet
LTC Admissions and Transfers Guidance
Nursing Facility Per Diem Add-On Provider Letter and FAQ
Kentucky Nurse Aide COVID-19 Information and Procedures

New  Kentucky Level-of-Care System (KLOCS) Go-Live and Training

The new planned go-live for the KLOCS is Aug. 3, 2020.  LTC, ICF/IDD facilities and hospice providers are required to use KLOCS starting Aug. 3 to receive payment. Beginning July 20, DMS will offer a free two-part Zoom webinar on KLOCS system functionality. Staff who handle LOC applications are encouraged to participate. Registration information will be provided in the coming weeks. Thank you for your understanding and continued commitment to keeping your communities and residents safe. 

Nursing Facilities and Nurse Aide Training Providers

Medicaid temporarily has waived the mandatory 16 hours of supervised clinical instruction prior to testing and the skills demonstration portion of the final exam until further notice. Upon employment, the mandatory 16 hours of supervised clinical instruction must be completed within the first 30 days of employment. The Department for Medicaid has increased the testing window 30 days allowing 150 days from date of employment to be listed on the registry. The department will monitor and update these waivers as needed during this health emergency.